Exclusive access from $6.55/month
Rally champions Neal Bates and Coral Taylor have retaken the lead of the 2012 Australian Classic Rally Challenge after a strong showing in Rally SA aboard their 1980 Toyota Celica RA40.

The duo won every stage on Friday and Saturday to resume the series lead from the Porsche team of Jeff David and Grant Geelan who exited early from the event.

Bates said the Celica RA40's pace was exemplary during the weekend's three heats that took in South Australia's Barossa, Mount Crawford and Murray regions.

"It blows me away how quick this thing is and I can't wait for the rest of the season," Bates said.

"The car was unbelievably fast throughout and fantastic to drive all weekend."

The Australian Classic Rally Challenge series runs as part of the Australian Rally Championship for pre-1983 rally cars.

Bates and Taylor now have 230 points in the classic category with two rounds remaining in the series.

The next round of the championship is the Coffs Coast Forest Rally on October 13 and 14.
Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts