Exclusive access from $6.55/month

The Australian Classic Rally Car Association (ACRA) has finalised the list of supported events that will form part of ACRA’s State, Territory and National Classic Rally Challenges.

ACRA has been growing at a steady rate and with the valued support of series backers is able to offer cash prizes for the winners of each challenge.

“Interest in Classic rallying is booming and ACRA have moved to expand its successful Challenge concept from last year. The idea behind State Challenges as well as the National Challenge is to support those events that are well conducted with members cars, and to provide an opportunity for keen spectators to see them in action,” said newly elected ACRA President, Darryn Snooks, when announcing this year’s program.

ACRA member cars include a Porsche, Escort BDAs, a Fiat Abarth, Datsun Stanzas, the iconic Datsun 1600 and new cars should be coming on line all year.

Several new cars are expected to see action this year, including a replica of the works Toyota Celica RA63 that won the NZ WRC Motoguard Rally in 1982, a Nissan 240RS replica and an Escort BDG, all reliving the golden era of Australian rallying from the seventies.

Wayne Bell, the former Marlboro Holden Dealer Team works driver, is building a replica Gemini to take on the Classic Challenge and he hopes to take on former Australian champions like Ross Dunkerton and Geoff Portman.

Dunkerton, with co-driver Alan Stean, will join forces once again for this year’s first ACRA Challenge round, the Cerberus Stages to be run on March 1, in a 240RS replica that makes up part of the Snooks Motorsport fleet of cars. He will be joined by Jeff David in the impeccable Porsche 911.

The Challenge Events are as follows:

ACRA National Classic Rally Challenge - $2000 Prize money
•    Cerberus Stages (VIC) – 1st March 
•    Bega Valley Motors Rally (NSW) – 8th June
•    Great Lakes Classic Rally ( NSW) – 20th September
•    National Capital Rally (ACT) 25th October
•    Akedemos Rally – 16th November

ACRA - NSW Classic Rally Challenge - $1000 Prize money
•    Oberon Rally – 12th April
•    Bega Valley Motors – 8th June
•    Coffs Harbour Rally – 2nd August
•    Great Lakes Classic Rally – 20th September
•    National Capital Rally – 25th  October

ACRA - Victorian Classic Rally Challenge - $1000 Prize money
•    Cerberus Stages -  1st March
•    Bonnie Doon Rally – 30th March
•    Bega Valley Motors Rally (NSW) 8th June
•    George Derrick Trial – 19th July
•    Akedemos Rally – 16th November

ACRA - ACT Classic Rally Challenge - $1000 Prize money
•    Narooma Rally (NSW) 1st March
•    Oberon (NSW) 12th April
•    Rally of Canberra 10th May
•    BRM Silverstone Rally 26th July
•    Tumut Rally (NSW) 16th August
•    Bay Stages (NSW) – 6th September
•    Giro di Inverno Mk11 – 27th September
•    National Capital Rally – 25th October

Series registration costs only $10 which is to help cover the cost of administration and. Participants will need to run an ACRA sticker and any series sponsor stickers on the car to be eligible to score points. Series Regulations are available on the ACRA Web site.

ACRA have an active rally forum www.classicrallycars.com and anyone interested in classic rallying are welcome to join in. Membership of ACRA is available for only $40.

Vehicle eligibility for the Challenges is as per the CAMS Classic Rally Car eligibility criteria.

ACRA welcomes anyone who wishes to participate in any or all of the Classic Rally Challenges and ACRA Challenges which provide the only prize money for a multiple series wins in Australian Rallying.

Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts