Exclusive access from $6.55/month
Mark Higgins, driving a Kenny McKinstry Motorsport Subaru Impreza World Rally Car, won the Cork 20 International Rally on September 30 and October 1.

The event was the final round of the Pirelli Irish Tarmac Championship, and saw Higgins beat former Ford and Peugeot driver, Markko Martin, by one minute and 17 seconds. Martin, who hasn’t competed at WRC level since his accident on the Rally GB last year which claimed the life of his co-driver, Michael Park, also drove an Impreza World Rally Car.

Eugene Donnelly was crowned the 2006 Irish Tarmac Champion on the narrow, bumpy lanes, after a steady run to third place in the Cork Rally in his ageing Toyota Corolla WRCar.

Day one leader, Guy Wilks, in an Impreza WRCar, crashed and had a brief fire on Sunday's first stage, while Andrew Nesbitt crashed his works Mitsubishi Lancer WRCar heavily and aggravated an old back injury.

To see more www.cmwi.net photos from the Cork International Rally, check out our photo gallery.


Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts