Exclusive access from $6.55/month

Adelaide Hills rally ace, Steve Glenney, has produced a superb drive to secure a brilliant victory in the four-day Targa Adelaide rally, the first round of the CAMS Australian Targa Championship.

Driver a 2009 Nissan GT-R, Glenney and co-driver, Bernie Webb, took the lead on the fourth stage of the event back on Thursday and were never headed, finishing one minute and 39 seconds ahead of reigning Targa champion Jason White (Lamborghini Gallardo) and Tony Quinn (Nissan GT-R) after 28 stages.

Another Adelaide driver, Simon Hoff (1975 Ford Escort RS2000), won the Classic Outright competition, after long-time leader, Craig Haysman (1981 Triumph TR7 V8) suffered mechanical problems with just three stages remaining. Tasmania’s Ben Newman won the Showroom 4WD class in his Subaru WRX.

After treacherous weather conditions over the opening days of competition, the rain held off for the final day as the 100-strong field contested four closed road tarmac stages over 45 competitive kilometres.

In the Modern competition, Glenney was the class act, pushing hard in wet on days one and two, and never relinquishing his advantage. When Jason White’s Lamborghini suffered a broken front differential mid-way through day two, Glenney’s win was all but secured.

Victory was sweet for Glenney, his first modern Targa title since winning in Targa Tasmania back in 2008.

“It’s a great result for us against a very strong field here in Adelaide, and I think the top five or six traded stage wins throughout the week, so to come out on top we’re thrilled,” Glenney said.

“I think the heavier Nissan GT-R, with its road-style tyres, does help in the wet, so we were able to get the jump on everyone early on.

“That helped, but then we did some tuning to our dry set-up today, which still needs a bit more work, but I think we’re able to keep pace in these conditions too.

“My local knowledge helped and made me feel more comfortable with the surroundings, but I’ve raced on the Tasmanian roads more than I’ve raced here.

“We’re now looking forward to the next few rounds of the championship and taking the fight right up to Jason (White) again.”

White managed to hold on to second place, nearly a minute clear of Targa veteran Tony Quinn in his Nissan, with the similar car of Jamie Vandenberg fourth. Peter Mayer rounded out the top five in a Porsche 911 GT3 RS.

Hoff’s win in Classic Outright in his Ford Escort was hard fought. He trailed fellow Adelaide drivers, Roger Paterson (Porsche) and Craig Haysman (Triumph), for much of the event, but when Paterson crashed out and Haysman had car trouble, he took a popular win in a car not normally suited to tarmac rallying.

“It’s great – I can’t believe it,” Hoff said.

“It’s a bit devastating for Craig (Haysman) as I never would have caught him otherwise, as he had a big lead and the conditions were dry.

“I didn’t have a lot of local knowledge, but I just kept the car straight and waited to see how we went. I’m very surprised to win, but very happy.

“The car went absolutely awesome, and without the help of a lot of people this wouldn’t have been possible. It’s just a good little car.”

Second Classic car home was the beautiful 1963 Jensen CV8 of Peter and Sari Ullrich, some 3minutes 43 seconds behind, with the Mazda RX7 of Bruce Power and Andrew Buerkner third.

Hoff (Late Classic) and Ullrich (Early Classic) were the event’s handicap winners.

After early leader in Showroom 4WD, Stewart Liddle (Mitsubishi), crashed out on day three, Ben Newman took a comfortable class win, while the Renault Megane of Adam Spence dominated Showroom. Glyn Crimp (BMW) secured top points in Showroom Sports.

It was a great event for local drivers, with Adelaide’s Tim Possingham untroubled in his quest to win the Early Modern class in his Nissan Skyline GT-R. Toby Gill (HSV Maloo) thrilled V8 fans on his way to Modern Muscle Car success, and Colin Zytveld took out the silverware in Regularity.

The next round of the CAMS Australian Targa Championship is Victoria’s Targa High Country, based out of Mt Buller, from November 8 to 10.

Targa Adelaide - Provisional results

1. Steve Glenney / Bernie Webb, 2009 Nissan GT-R Spec-V
2. Jason White / John White, 2011 Lamborghini Gallardo Superleggera, +1m39s
3. Tony Quinn / Naomi Tillett, 2011 Nissan GT-R, +2m29s
4. Jamie Vandenberg / Dennis Sims, 2009 Nissan GT-R, +3m14s
5. Peter Mayer / John Caldicott, 2007 Porsche 911 GT3 RS, +22m35s

1. Simon Hoff / Peter Hoff, 1975 Ford Escort RS2000, +2m02s
2. Peter Ullrich / Sari Ullrich, 1963 Jensen CV8, +3m43s
3. Bruce Power / Andrew Buerckner, 1979 Mazda RX7, +5m28s
4. Jai Raymond / Jen Mathwin-Raymond, 1979 Rover SD1, +5m40s
5. Roger Lomman / Annie Bainbridge, 1972 Datsun 240Z, +6m36s

1. Ben Newman / Crichton Lewis, 2010 Subaru WRX STI
2. Clinton Arentz / Pete Burrey, 2009 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X, +1m44s
3. Michael Flood / Nathan Green, 2012 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X, +3m53s

1. Adam Spence / Erin Kelly, 2013 Renault Megane RS 265
2. Bunjamin Noor / Lee Challoner-Miles, 2011, Renault Megane RS 250, +20m27s

1. Tim Possingham / Ben Scott, 1990 Nissan Skyline GT-R
2. Robert Balint / Peter Lane, 2001 Mitsubishi Laner Evo VI, +56s
3. Andre Lukasz / Adam Tillett, 1995 Nissan 200 SX, +4m37s

1. Simon Hoff / Peter Hoff, 1975 Ford Escort RS2000
2. Bruce Power / Andrew Buerckner, 1979 Mazda RX7, +1m45s
3. Robert Gambino / Mary Hughes, 1976 Ferrari 308 GTB, +3m07s

1. Peter Ullrich / Sari Ullrich, 1963 Jensen CV8
2. Andrew Bryson / Craig Milich, 1964 Hillman Imp Rallye, +2m47s
3. Jack Waldron / Vin Gregory, 1955 Fiat Abarth 750, +7m22s

1. Glyn Crimp / Paul van der Mey, 2012 BMW 1 Series M

1. Toby Gill / Sam Tapping, 2009 HSV Maloo
2. Neill Ford / Colin Maher, 2007 Chevrolet Corvette Z06, +8m18s

1. Zytveld / Zytveld, Ford FPV GT, 275 points
2. Farkas / Farkas, BMW M3, 428 points
3. Amos / Amos, Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X, 566 points

Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts