Exclusive access from $6.55/month
Ballarat driver, Tristan Penhall and co-driver, Jolie Middleton, won the Mt Porepunkah Rallysprint on September 1 after a dominant drive in their Subaru Impreza WRX.

Penhall was clearly the fastest driver on the day, leading home the Nissan Silvia of Alan Friend and Michelle Canning in the North Eastern Car Club-organised event.

Held just outside Bright in Victoria's north east, the event was held in perfect spring weather, with a cool frosty morning followed by clear blue skies.

Competitors completed eight stages for the day. The morning saw them head up and over Mt Porepunkah from the Bright side, while the afternoon's stages were held in the reverse direction.

Competitors were scored on their fastest run on each stage, meaning that only four of the eight special stages counted towards the final results.

This worked in favour of Andrew Daniell and Simon Rowland, who finished third in their Lancer Evo 3, despite rolling out of the event on the penultimate stage.

Fourth place went to Grant Walker and Craig Thomas in their immaculate Ford Escort RS1800, while former ARC star, Glen Raymond, finished fifth in an under-powered 1987 Toyota Corolla.

Twenty-six cars started the event, with seven competitors not completing all eight stages due to mechanical problems or off-road excursions.

Photos: John Doutch

Provisional results
2012 Mt Porepunkah Rallysprint

Car No., Driver / Co-Driver, Vehicle, Total Time

1. Tristan Penhall / Jolie Middleton, Subaru Impreza WRX, 55m56s

2. Alan Friend / Michelle Canning, Nissan Silvia, 56m39s

3. Glen Raymond / Luke Simpson, Toyota Corolla, 57m31s

4. Andrew Daniell / Simon Rowland, Mitsubishi Lancer Evo III, DNF - Rolled

5. Neil Schey / Scott Middleton,  Ford Escort RS1800, 58m54s

6. Grant Walker / Craig Thomas, Ford Escort RS1800, 56m55s

7. Brendan Brown / Samantha Robison, Datsun 180B SS, 60m36s

8. Steven MacKenzie / Brent MacKenzie, Ford Fiesta, 59m07s

9. Justin Walker / Bianca Lowe,  Ford Escort MK 2, 57m37s

10. Brian Shand / Mick Dalton, Mitsubishi Starion Turbo, DNF - Gearbox

11. Tony Moore / Nikki Moore , Hyundai Excel, DNF - Fuel pump

12. Craig Jarvie / Silvia Jarvie, Holden Commodore, 62m16s

13. Les Adams / James Adams, Holden Commodore, DNF - Diff

14. Paul Eccles / Alysha Eccles, Subaru Impreza WRX, 59m52s

15. Andrew Kavanagh / Tom Ruessman, Datsun 180B, DNF - Gearbox

16. Jon Lambie / Adam Wright, Ford Escort, 70m32s

17. Michael Long / Vaughan Haskett, Datsun 180B SS, 72m09s

18. Dean Price / Jenna Kelley, Proton Satria, 62m00s

19. Peter Morrison / Susan Wasson, Hyundai Excel, 65m57s

20. Tony Morley / Rodney Hunt, Subaru Impreza WRX, 59m54s

21. Stuart Lawless / Darcy O Connor, Ford Escort, DNS

22. Sean Gibson / Stephen Eccles, Ford Falcon, DNF - Gearbox

23. Troy Brendel / Samantha Brendel, Ford Escort, 65m24s

24. Owen Polanski / Doug Fernie, Mazda RX2, DNF - Off road

25. Ryan Humphreys / Sandra Cuttle, Toyota Corolla, 61m20s

26. Matt Leoncini /David Leoncini, Hyundai Excel, 64m44s

27. Robert Mckerlie / Nick Seymour, Hyundai Excel, 64m46s
Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts