Exclusive access from $6.55/month

Motorsport all-rounder Clark Proctor and new co-driver Sue O'Neill (Nissan GT-R35) lead Targa New Zealand after an eventful first day though with just seven seconds separating the top three finishers the annual four-day tarmac rally is still anyone's race.

After a high-profile start at internet entrepreneur Kim Dotcom's mansion at Coatsville on Auckland's North Shore this morning, and in the absence of defending title holder Tony Quinn and his co-driver Naomi Tillett who were a last-minute withdrawal in their Nissan GT-R35, Orewa driver Leigh Hooper and co-driver Simon Kirkpatrick grabbed an early lead in their Subaru WRX but their challenge was shortlived.
After winning the first stage from fellow Subaru aces Rick Giddy and Paul Ottaway, and Nissan pair Proctor and O'Neill, then the second from Giddy and Ottaway and Auckland Mitsubishi pair Jason Gill and Mark Robinson, Hopper and Kirkpatrick slipped back to second in the third stage after problems with their Subaru's turbo then were stopped in their tracks for good in the next stage with a gearbox failure.
Former Targa Bambina and Rotorua event winner Glenn Inkster and his co-driver Spencer Winn spent the first three stages familiarising themselves with their new Mitsubishi Evo 8 then won the fourth.
An electrical issue saw them back down the order in the fifth stage but when that was addressed the pair were back on the pace. Results of the sixth stage are still provisional pending time assessments after several drivers stopped to render assistance when another competitor rolled, but with Inkster and Winn on top again in the final Inglewood Jumps stage from Proctor and O'Neill and Gill and Robinson, overall victory at the end of the first day was Proctor and O'Neill's albeit by just one second from Inkster and Winn with Gill and Robinson third a further six seconds back.
Former speedway and NZV8s racer Proctor has been an enthusiastic and popular Targa competitor for several years now but of late has struggled with reliability issues with his hi-tech Nissan GT-R35.
This year he decided to dial back the power in the interests of actually finishing an event and reaped the reward.
"That was the plan," he said," to start conservatively, drive down the middle of the road and just try and improve the car stage by stage and that's exactly what's happened. The car just got better and better as the day went on. With it being my first big event with Sue (O'Neill) it was also important for the two of us to get used to each other."
Light rain in the afternoon and showers later on also played into Proctor's hands.
"I love the rain and believe it is a great leveler," he said.
With just the one second in it Day two's stages early stages from New Plymouth to Palmerston North will be pivotal. And Proctor says he can't wait.
"Today," he said, "I'd rate the car at six and the driver seven out of 10. I will push if I need to but I what I really want to do is finish this year!"
In the Metalman Classic 2WD class the usually dominant members of the Kirk-Burnnand family were joined at the front of the field by Wellington brothers Angus and Euan Howden and Marton driver Craig Pilet and Lincoln Jones.
With the results of the sixth stage still provisional Mark Kirk-Burnnand and his Australian cousin Adrian ended up in the lead at New Plymouth in their BMW M3 by a second from the Howden brothers in their less exotic E30 3-series BMW with Ross Graham and Kevin Brooks in their Holden Torana third a minute and a half back and Mark's father Barry and his co-driver Dave O'Carroll fourth in their BMW M3.
The only class where one pairing were dominant was the Instra Modern 2WD class where Dunedin driver Martin Dippie and co-driver Jona Grant won all six stages to claim the class lead by two minutes from the BMW pairings of Australian Robert Darrington and David Abetz and Kiwis Mike Sexton and Rick Cooper.
Instra.com Allcomers 4WD

1. Clark Proctor/Sue O'Neill (2008 Nissan GT-R35) 01:02:40
2. Glenn Inkster/Spencer Winn (2000 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 8) 01:02:41
3. Jason Gill /Mark Robinson (2005 Mistubishi  Evo9GT) 01:02:47
4. David Rogers/Aidan Kelly (2009 Mitsubishi Evo X RS) 01:07:08
5. Brian Green/Fleur Pedersen (2010 Mitsubishi  Lancer Evo X RS) 01:07:32
5. Graeme Wong/George Paterson (1998 Subaru Impreza WRX Sti) 01:08:44
6. Chris  Lane/Andrew Oakley (2004 Audi RS4) 01:08:58
7. Craig  Fraser/Neil Fraser (1990 Lancia Delta Integral) 01:12:45975
8. Andrew  Simms/Chris West (2010 Mitsubishi  Lancer Evo10) 01:15:38
9. Ray  Chubb/Mike Catty (1989 Nissan Skyline  GTS4) 01:20:19
10. Leigh Hopper/Simon Kirkpatrick (1995 Subaru Impreza WRX Sti) 01:26:05988
Metalman Classic 2WD
1. Mark Kirk-Burnnand/Adrian Kirk Burnnand (1987 BMW M3) 01:06:51
2. Angus Howden/Euan  Howden (1986 BMW  E30 2.7) 01:06:52
3. Ross Graham/Kevin  Brooks (1977 Holden  Torana) 01:08:26
4. Barry Kirk-Burnnand/Dave O'Carroll (1989 BMW M3) 01:08:51
5. Bevan Claridge/Jason Easton (1992 Holden Commodore) 01:08:54
6. Carl Kirk-Burnnand/Sam Gordon 1991 BMW 325i (01:09:21)
7. Craig Pilet/Lincoln Jones (1977 Holden Torana SS) 01:10:15
8. Andy Mygind/Anthony  Baker (1972 Datsun 240Z) 01:11:02
9. Eddie Grooten/Ben Grooten (1978 Porsche  911 SC) 01:11:43
10. Kelly Silverthorn/Henry Moore (1979 Porsche 911 3.0RS) 01:11:53

Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts