Exclusive access from $6.55/month
With a double stage victory, Volkswagen factory drivers Carlos Sainz/Michel Périn expanded their overall lead in the Morocco Rally to 4.31 minutes on the third of six competition days.

Finishing the day in second place, their team-mates Giniel de Villiers/Dirk von Zitzewitz, defended their position as the overall runners-up in front of Carlos Sousa/Andreas Schulz in the Race Touareg of Team Lagos.

On the 344-kilometre stage around the desert oasis of Zagora, which is one of the two longest special stages of the entire rally, Mark Miller/Ralph Pitchford in their Volkswagen Race Touareg, claimed fifth place overall behind BMW driver Nasser Al-Attiyah.

The fourth round of the FIA Cross-Country Rally World Cup continues today with another 244-kilometre loop around Zagora.

Results after Leg 3

1. Carlos Sainz/Michel Périn, Volkswagen Race Touareg 2,  8h19m12s;
2. Giniel de Villiers/Dirk von Zitzewitz, Volkswagen Race Touareg, + 4m31s;
3. Carlos Sousa/Andreas Schulz,  Volkswagen Race Touareg, + 16m28s;
4. Nasser Al-Attiyah/Alain Guehennec, BMW X3 CC, + 22m11s;
5. Mark Miller/Ralph Pitchford, Volkswagen Race Touareg 2, + 31m21s.

Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts