Tasmania’s Jason and John White and their 2006 Lamborghini Gallardo have taken the honours at Mt Buller, breaking the record for the fastest run in the process.

The nephew-and-uncle duo posted an 8m42.82s run on stage seven of the eight runs, eclipsing the previous record of 8m45.50s posted by Jim Richards and Barry Oliver in January 2005 in their 2003 Porsche GT2.

White/White finished the eight runs with a total time of 1:11:00.91.

In second place, making their tarmac rally debut, were gravel kings Cody Crocker and Ben Atkinson (Les Walkden Rallying/Subaru Motorsport), with a total time of 1:11:06.48.

On the seventh stage, the newly crowned Asia-Pacific rally champions actually broke Richards’ record, with an 8m44.49s run. They held the honour for exactly 30 seconds until the Whites crossed the finish line. Crocker and Atkinson (2006 Subaru Impreza WRX Spec C) actually posted their quickest run on the final dash, with an 8m43.62s.

Third place went to the 2005 Team Mitsubishi Ralliart Evo 9 of Warwick Rooklyn and Linda Long with a total time of 1:11:21.32. Their quickest run up the 16km stage was their seventh, 8m47.11s.

Ray Vandersee and Jahmeil Taylor finished fourth (1:12:04.10) in Vandersee’s creation, the Skelta G-Force sportscar, while husband and wife duo Matt and and Casey Close rounded out the top five, finishing with a total of 1:12.20.92 in their 2000 Porsche Turbo.

6th – Neville and Michelle Shears (2001 Evo 6.5)

7th – Scott Pedder/Glen Weston (2005 Team Mitsubishi Ralliart Evo 9)

8th – Eli Evans / Chris Murphy (2005 Subaru Impreza STi)

9th – Rex Broadbent/Michael Goedheer (1992 Porsche Carrera RS)

10th – Jeff and Jo Keyte (2006 Evo 9)

Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts