Steve Kenway and Lauren Palmer have won Round 1 of the EXEDY Victorian Rally Championship in trying conditions on Saturday, in the forests surrounding Bairnsdale.  

The pair pushed their Subaru WRX STi hard, and managed a clean run on the wet and slippery roads, a feat not managed by many of the other crews.

Warren Lee and David Lethlean took the initial lead on SS1, but the returning crew of Craig and Carrie Morris, soon grabbed the lead on SS2 and 3, until they suffered an off road incident on SS4, heavily damaging the car and putting them out of the event.  Steve and Matt Raymond also suffered suspension damage on SS3, ending their event.

In 2WD, Brian Semmens and Dan Parry were showing good speed in their Nissan 200SX until they succumb to the rocky conditions with a puncture and were forced to change the tyre, costing them four minutes.  Alan Roe and Ray Farrell were on the pace in their Silvia S13, as was Rowan Wollard and Andrew Bell in their Datsun 1600, who were sitting in third outright after SS4 and the end of Heat 1.  Wollard and Bell would then hang on to win 2WD and finish in third outright.

Steven Mackenzie and brother Brent were leading the BATRONIC Hyundai Excel series, until they also suffered a problem at the end of SS6, handing the lead to Daniel and Matt Anderson, who held on to win Heat 2 and their class and take home the 99R Brake Pad Award.

Lee and Lethlean struggled in the tricky conditions and couldn’t match the pace of Kenway in the second heat, with Kenway and Palmer eventually winning the event by 1min and 48sec and snatching the EXEDY Clutch prize pack.

The EXEDY Victorian Rally Championship now heads to NSW for Round 2, the Bega Valley rally on June 12th.  Visit for more information.

Top 10 results – 2011 East Gippsland Stages
1 Steve Kenway/Lauren Palmer   Subaru Impreza WRX   1:32:02
2 Warren Lee/David Lethlean   Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9   1:34:50
3 Rowan Woollard(2)/Andrew Bell(2)   Datsun 1600   1:35:27
4 Neil Schey(2)/Scott Middleton(2)   Ford Escort RS2000   1:35:58
5 Wayne Stewart/Lucas Zinsstag   Subaru   WRX STi RA   1:36:35
6 Andrew Taylor(2)/Michael Stanbrough(2)   Mazda RX7   1:37:06
7 Tristan Penhall/Jolie Middleton   Subaru WRX   1:37:45
8 Rob Davis(2)/Aidan O'Halloran(2)   Nissan Sunny GTi   1:38:17
9 Brendan Brown(2)/Sam Robison(2)   Datsun 180B SSS   1:38:31
10 Brian Semmens(2)/Dan Parry(2)   Nissan 200SX RVS12   1:39:29
Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts