This entry list for this weekend's Coromandel Rally, round five of the New Zealand Rally Championship, features a unique statistic that may never have happened in the world before. The first 10 seeded entries are in 10 different makes of car, starting with Hayden Paddon's Hyundai i20 AP4+, and ending with Richie Dalton's Ford Fiesta Proto. In between their are cars from Mazda, Subaru, Peugeot, Mitsubishi, Holden, Skoda, Audi and Suzuki. In years gone by national championships have often been dominated by a brace of Mitsubishi and Subarus, but the R5, AP4 and Proto spec cars have put an end to that. Interestingly, in what is really a changing a of the guard, the recent Subaru-sponsored Rally Tasmania didn't feature one Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution. You'd have to go back a long time to find an ARC round that didn't feature Mitsubishi's finest. Β 
Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts