Exclusive access from $6.55/month

Ken Block/Alex Gelsomino (Subaru Impreza WRX) have once again proved that they are the masters of the roads in New York's Catskill Mountains. The two Californians won Rally New York USA for the second year in a row.

The Subaru Rally Team USA duo took the lead on the first of 23 special stages and were never overtaken. Their lead when they reached the finish line in Walton, New York was over a minute.
The weather in the Catskills was hardly Spring-like, whatever the calendar may have said. Friday's leg featured cool weather and light to moderate rain. Saturday's leg had near-freezing temperatures, with alternating light rain and snow flurries.

It was not ideal for vacations (in what is a resort area), but the rally competitors and service crews took it in stride. In the late stages of the rally, with many of the class victories settled, some drivers were admitting that they were only driving at about 90%, to avoid going off the road.
Otis Dimiters/Dominik Jozwiak (Subaru Impreza) were second most of the way and finished in the runner-up position. Dimiters admitted to two spins in the slippery conditions, but otherwise the event went smoothly for them.
Former winners Seamus Burke/Eddie Fries (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo) placed third. The team lost time on Friday due to contact with a guard rail at speed, but recovered and put in a clean drive over the remaining miles.
There was a strong race in the two-wheel-drive category, which was ultimately settled in favor of Thomas Greer/Bob Della Rocco (Volkswagen Golf GTI). Dan Brosnan/Shane McCann (Nissan Sentra) were the runners-up, ahead of 2WD Production trophy winners Michael Reilly/Josh Bentien Ford Focus SVT.
Note: Rally New York USA is the opening round of the U.S. Rally Championship. Each day's event is also scored as a round of the regional New York Rally Championship.
1 Ken Block/Alex Gelsomino, Subaru Impreza WRX, 1st AWD
2 Otis Dimiters/Dominik Jozwiak, Subaru Impreza, 2nd AWD
3 Seamus Burke/Eddie Fries, Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX, 3rd AWD
4 Daniel O'Brien/Brendan McCabe, Subaru Impreza, 4th AWD
5 Patrick Brennan/Eamon Sweeney, Subaru Impreza WRX Sti, 5th AWD
6 Eoin McGeough/Cathal McAree, Subaru Impreza WRX, 6th AWD
7 Maciej Przybysz/Kristin Przybysz, Subaru Impreza, 7th AWD
8 Mike O'Leary/John O'Leary, Mitsubishi Lancer Evo, 8th AWD
9 William Petrow/Vincent Neuven, Subaru Impreza, 9th AWD, 1st AWD
10 Dan Brosnan/Shane McCann, Nissan Sentra, 2wd 2WD

Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts