Connect with us


Blow for APRC as Mpart departs

Jari Ketomaa 2018 APRC
Jari Ketomaa in action in the Rally of Whangarei earlier this year. Photo: APSM

The promoters of the FIA’s Asia Pacific Rally Championship have suffered a blow with news that the Swedish Mpart team will not be making a return to the APRC in 2018.

Mpart runs the special Mitsubishi Mirages that were driven by Jari Ketomaa and Robert Blomberg in 2017.,

A spokesman stated: “Mpart owner Tomas Weng achieved what he set out to do this year, which was get the car known in the region.”

The team did not enter the final round of the 2017 APRC series in India.

Although the MRF Skoda team again dominated the series, the entry of the second team and their lead driver, Jari Ketomaa, revitalised the series in 2017.

Private Mpart driver, Sanjay Takale, is likely to return to the series, however.

Martin Holmes is widely considered as world rallying's most experienced, and most respected journalist. Martin covers the WRC, ERC and all major rally championships around the world.


Declan Dwyer and Craig Adams have given us the third winner in as many rounds in this year’s MRF Tyres South Australian Rally Championship.

This Saturday’s Hyundai NZ Gold Rush Rally of Coromandel in New Zealand represents unfinished business for Kiwi rally star Hayden Paddon – it’s the one national rally he’s never won.

RallySport Mag’s Tom Smith recently caught up with Queenslander, John Allen, the man they call ‘JA’, to dig into the reasons for this ‘retirement’ from co-driving, and what the future holds. This is Part 2 of our John Allen interview.


More in APRC