Exclusive access from $6.55/month

The CAMS Australian Targa Championship will return in 2018, with all eight Targa car categories included in the series.

Targa winners, like Jason White, could be crowned Australian Targa Champion.Two ‘Overall’ competitions in Targa events will also be recognised as CAMS national championships.
One will cover the Early Modern, GT2 and GT4 competitions, and the winners will be crowned the CAMS Australian Targa Champions.  

The other will cover Classic and Classic GT competitions, with the winners will be crowned the CAMS Australian Targa Classic Champions.

Winning teams will be invited to the CAMS National Awards dinner each year to receive their accolades, alongside the winners of the Australian Rally Championship and the Supercars Championship.

“It is great news for Targa and tarmac rallying competitors across the country,” Targa event director, Mark Perry, said.  

“To finally be recognised in this way will inspire many competitors to achieve this goal and will surely see the introduction of many new manufacturers, along with increased involvement from our current manufacturers, in the years ahead.”

The 2018 championship will be contested over four events, with a soon to be announced event added to Targa North West (Tasmania), Targa Tasmania and a final round at Targa High Country (Victoria). 

- Peter Whitten

Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts