New Zealand's deep south will host the popular Catlins Coast Rally this weekend, with 67 crews entered, headed by New Zealand Rally Champion, Andrew Hawkeswood. Hawkeswood will drive his Mazda 2 AP4, but will start as car two behind the Lancer Evo 3 of Andrew Graves. Another NZRC regular, Matt Summerfield, is back behind the wheel of his Subaru Impreza WRX, while Dean Bond (Mitsubishi), Jeff Judd (Subaru) and Carter Strang (Mitsubishi) are other regulars at the top of the entry list. Add in the likes of two-wheel drive punters Derek Ayson (Escort), Deane Buist (VW Golf) and Marcus van Klink (Mazda RX7) and you have the makings for one heck of a rally.
Deane Buist Otago Rally 2008-8

Deane Buist will be out for 2WD honours in his VW Golf. Photo: Peter Whitten

Tony Gosling will also give his crowd-pleasing Subaru Legacy RS Turbo a run in a field that just keeps on giving. The six-stage Catlins Coast Rally will be run over a total of 150 kilometres. The rally is Round 6 of the MRF Tyres Mainland Rally Championship and part of the Eastern Southland Car Club Rally Championship. The 2018 Catlins Coast Rally will be live-streamed on the Catlins Coast Rally Official Facebook page.
Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts