Exclusive access from $6.55/month
Subaru rally driver Cody Crocker has created history, becoming the first driver to win four Asia-Pacific Rally Championship (APRC) titles.

In extreme weather conditions where the temperature soared to over 35 degrees, the Victorian claimed his fourth straight crown after dominating the sixth round of the APRC, the Rally of Indonesia.

Crocker's victory sees him move one title win ahead of a string of rallying's greatest drivers, including his Subaru mentor, Possum Bourne, and Sweden’s Kenneth Eriksson, both of whom won three titles.

After setting up a lead of one minute on the first day of the 14 stage, 221 competitive kilometre event, Crocker and his MotorImage Impreza WRX STI only needed to finish the final day's stages to build an unassailable lead over Japan's Katsu Taguchi (Mitsubishi) and New Zealander Emma Gilmour (Subaru).

However, he showed no signs of relenting his four year domination of the APRC, not only winning the event, but increasing his lead over the final six stages to one minute and 29 seconds.

"I couldn't be happier," Crocker said after crossing the finish line of the final stage. "It's an incredible feeling to win four APRC titles, and it makes all the effort that Ben, the team and I have put in this year worthwhile.

"Having to only score five points in Indonesia to win the championship seemed like an easy task, but to drive at a sensible pace and retain your concentration over the tough and demanding stages here wasn’t as simple as it sounded.

"We've had a trouble free rally though," he added. "Once again the MotorImage Subaru has performed faultlessly and Ben and I have been able to fully focus on getting to the finish and scoring the points we needed.

"In heat like we've had in Indonesia this weekend, one of the toughest jobs is to keep your fluid intake high and to keep your body temperature as low as possible.

"Today's stages were quite low speed and the car was roasting hot by the end of them, but the team have done a great job on all counts, and we couldn’t be happier."

Crocker now ranks as one of Australia's most successful rally drivers. Along with the four APRC crowns, his trophy cabinet also boasts three Australian Rally Championship titles.

His team-mate, New Zealander Emma Gilmour, finished third in Indonesia behind the Mitsubishi of Katsu Taguchi.

Crocker has the chance to further add to his points tally at the final round of the championship, the Rally of China, to be held on November 14 and 15.

Rally of Indonesia – final results*

1. Cody Crocker/Ben Atkinson, Subaru Impreza WRX STI, 3h 17m 7.5s
2. Katsu Taguchi/Mark Stacey, Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX, + 1m29.0s
3. Emma Gilmour/Claire Mole, Subaru Impreza WRX STI, +10m01.9s
4. Subhan Aksa/Hade Mboi, Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX
5. Sadikin Aksa/Adi Wibowo, Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X

* results subject to official confirmation

Photo: www.aprc.tv

Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts