Keith Cronin and co-driver Barry McNulty successfully defended the MSA British Rally Championship title, which Cronin won twelve months ago, with a controlled drive to third overall on this weekend's International Rally of Yorkshire.

Celebrations were sombre, however, as the pair dedicated their result to fellow TEG Sport competitor Jimmy Girvan who tragically passed away following an accident on the McRae Stages Rally earlier in the day.

Cronin, the 2009 champion, only needed to finish inside the top seven to be assured of the 2010 Dulux Trade MSA British Rally Championship title and the TEG Sport team had accordingly prepared the car with an emphasis on reliability rather than raw pace. At the end of Friday's action the Irishman was well placed in third overall with team-mates Adam Gould and Craig Drew in sixth position.

Overnight rain made the road conditions treacherous but Keith did everything that was asked of him to bring the Subaru Impreza N15 back to Scarborough unscathed. And by finishing third overall was assured of his second MSA British Rally Championship title in a row.

Keith also becomes the first Pirelli Star Driver recipient to be crowned champion but understandably, having spent a day testing with Jimmy Girvan on Thursday, was very subdued at the finish following the tragic news from earlier in the day.

Stuart Newby, TEG Sport Team Principal:
"Keith drove a fantastic rally with no heroics. We played it safe this weekend by running with a tool box and two spare wheels and even so he still finished third overall. We've finished second in the championship for the last three years and so it is nice to take the win this time. However it is devastating about Jimmy and all of our thoughts are with his family."

Adam Gould and Craig Drew played the perfect support role in their efforts to help TEG Sport clinch the team's title but ultimately the pair were forced to retire their Subaru Impreza N11 with a damaged bottom arm on the front suspension.

Adam Gould:
"It is gutting for my season to end this way but cannot thank everyone enough for all of their support especially TEG Sport, they have been absolutely fantastic!"

Trackrod Rally Yorkshire Results

1, Gwyndaf Evans/Claire Mole - Mitsubishi Evo X - 1:18:27.6

2, Alastair Fisher/Rory Kennedy - Mitsubishi Evo X - 1:19:09.1

3, Keith Cronin/Barry McNulty - Subaru Impreza N15 - 1:19:38.0

4, Daniel McKenna/Andrew Grennan - Mitsubishi Evo IX - 1:20:54.9

5, Jason Pritchard/Robbie Durant - Subaru Impreza - 1:21:43.6

6, Daniel Sigurdarson/Asta Sigurdardottir - Mitsubishi Evo X - 1:22:12.7

7, Alan Cookson/Julian Wilkinson - Subaru Impreza N15 - 1:25:10.1

8, Wug Utting/Bob Stokoe - Subaru Impreza - 1:26:13.5

9, Craig Breen/Gareth Roberts - Ford Fiesta S2000 - 1:27:20.1

10, Mikko Pajunen/Janne Perala - Ford Fiesta R2 - 1:27:3


Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts