Three times national champions Simon and Sue Evans will head the charge of 58 crews at the Quit Forest Rally to be held in Western Australia from the 16th -18th April 2010.

The Evans’, who last won the Quit Forest Rally in 2007, have yet to win a round in the 2010 Australian Rally Championship and will be sure to come out firing at the first gravel round of the national championship.

Joining the husband and wife duo in the event will be Simon’s younger brother Eli, who will be partnered by former Asia Pacific Rally Championship co-driver Glen Weston.  

The pair will be aiming for their first Quit Forest Rally victory and will do so behind the wheel of a front-wheel drive Honda Civic Type R which will be taking to the plantation roads of the Nannup Forest for the first time.

Quit Forest Rally Clerk of Course Ross Tapper is delighted with the field and said this year’s event looks set to be one of the best yet.

“With new cars for many of the top ARC drivers plus some fantastic drivers returning to the championship in 2010 the event is sure to be a tough one to win,” Tapper said.

“The course is very similar to 2009 so I expect returning drivers to be quite confident out on the roads which will lead to some impressive viewing from the spectator points around the forest.”  

Returning to the ARC in 2010 Scott Pedder and his co-driver, West Australian Jon Mortimer, took first round honours at Rally Tasmania in February and will be pushing to make it two out of two for the season in their first event together on gravel.

Defending Quit Forest Rally Champions Glen and Matt Raymond have stepped up to a new car in 2010, a Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X, and will be one of the teams to watch as they aim for back to back titles.

West Australian Darren Windus will contest the rally back behind the wheel of a Neal Bates Motorsport S2000 Corolla and will be hoping to continue the form he had in the car in the opening stages of the 2009 event.

Victorians Justin Dowel and Matt Lee achieved their first ARC podium in Tasmania and, as one of the few front runners who will be contesting the event in the same car as 2009, could have an advantage over the crews who will be competing on gravel for the first time in new vehicles.

Six all West Australian crews will also be contesting the ARC part of the event and will be aiming to keep the annual trophy in their home state for the first time in since Rob Herridge in 1992.

Roman Watkins and Leigh Hynes will be the local drivers to beat and will also be aiming for maximum points in the second round of the West Australian Rally Championship which forms a part of the event.

The 2010 Quit Forest Rally will also include a round of the West Australian Rally Championship, the WA Clubman Championship and for the first time, Quit Forest Rally Moto.
Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts