Decisions from the FIA regarding the 2011 World Rally Championship:

The FIA World Rally Championship calendar remains as ratified by the World Council in April 2010. There will be 13 events to allow the evolution of rallying worldwide, including the format of events and eligibility of cars.

From 2011, the sporting regulations will be amended to allow any tyre manufacturer to supply tyres. Regulations will be implemented to control costs. The amended regulations will be presented to the WMSC for a fax vote before 20 July 2010. The FIA Junior World Rally Championship will continue with a single tyre supplier.

With immediate effect, the name of the co-driver will be included on the rear side windows of competition cars in the World Rally Championship and Regional Rally Championships.

The World Council adopted new cost-controlling technical regulations for the Regional Rally Championships to permit the adaptation of the current Super 2000 cars to the new 1.6L turbo engine.

Following an invitation to tender to supply paddle shift systems in the 2011 and 2012 FIA World Rally Championships, the FIA received tenders which did not satisfy the criteria. The World Council therefore did not select a single supplier for the 2011 FIA World Rally Championship. The WRC Commission has been mandated to study the possible introduction of a paddle shift system in the future, in line with the evolution of similar road car technology.

Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts