South Australian Steve Glenney, driving a Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX, has dominated the Modern competition at Targa Tasmania to finish one minute 31 seconds clear of eight time winner, Jim Richards, in a 2008 Porsche 911 GT2.


West Australian Dean Herridge finished third in his Subaru Impreza WRX STI after Jason White’s Lamborghini was forced out of the event at the end of the opening stage on the final day with gearbox problems.

The victory was the first by a Mitsubishi in the 17-year history of the tarmac classic, Glenney’s car superior in pace and performance to that of any of his rivals. His driving performance was equally impressive. He took the lead on the famous Sidling stage on Thursday morning and never surrendered it.

Rex Broadbent was similarly dominant in the Classics competition, taking outright honours for the second successive year.

Broadbent had a setback to his plans when he was forced to borrow a tyre in Strahan to replace the one he damaged late on Saturday. He copped a two minute penalty, which saw him slip back to second place, but quickly regained it on the first stage of the final day, enabling him to reclaim the lead and cruise to victory in Hobart.

He finished the sprint around the Domain in his 1974 Porsche 911 RS one minute 25 seconds clear of the 1989 Porsche 944 S2 of Gavin James. The man who so generously gave a tyre to Broadbent, Peter Eames, was third just four seconds further back.

Eames started the day third, 30 seconds behind James, but only six in arrears of Broadbent. Had he kept his tyres for himself he would have certainly finished second, but his gesture left him the clear winner of the unofficial “Good Sportsmanship” award.

The 2WD Showroom class did not go to script on the final day. Rick Bates looked like he had the title all stitched up in his Mazda3 MPS after dominating the first four days, but mechanical problems around Mt Arrowsmith saw his team mate, Scotsman Alister McRae, sweep to the lead and go on to take the title.

McRae finished over 20 minutes ahead of second placed Philip Buggee in a 2006 Fiat Punto Sport, with John Dunkley and his 2006 Peugeot 206 GTI 180 third.

Hobart’s Tony Warren got a home town hero’s welcome when he crossed the finish line in his Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX to secure the 4WD Showroom title. He was a massive eight minutes 29 seconds in front of the Queensland, Scott Millar, with Malcolm Klopp third another three minutes 43 seconds back.

It is the first totally rain-free Targa in the event’s long history. The conditions make Glenney’s victory even more meritorious, as normally the 4WD cars thrive in wet conditions.

“The event was very tough and we probably competed under conditions which didn’t suit our car, which has made the win all the more pleasing,” Glenney said.

“Conditions have been hot and dry, which suits the Lamborghinis and Porsches, but we’ve been able to get away with a win, so we’re very happy.

“I would love to come back and defend the Targa title next year and look forward to it.”

Broadbent was delighted to add to his 2007 Classics victory, but recognised it had only been made possible by one of his key rivals giving him a lifeline.

“The generosity of Peter Eames was a gesture of fantastic sportsmanship by giving us one tyre and allowing us to continue,” Broadbent continued.

“We weren’t hanging around this morning and we really had to go for it as we were starting the day 24 seconds behind.”

“We didn’t’ know if we were making or losing time on the others early on, so had to drive 10/10ths for a few stages. It all worked out which is just fantastic.”

Eames was happy to finish third in the Classic competition and was pleased to help his fellow Porsche driver with the tyre.

“Rex (Broadbent) and I had a discussion before the event about what tyres we were running,” Eames said. “He knew what tyres I had and rang last night to ask if we had any spare fronts.”

“So we just gave him one of ours – and he’s beaten the hell out of me with it on! It’s all about having fun, and if we win we want to win on the road, not by being mean and leaving three good tyres in the back of the ute!”

McRae, who has driven in over 70 World Championship events, thought that Targa was an event to remember.

It’s great to be here and win the showroom category, McRae said. “It’s a great result for Mazda and it just proves a standard car straight out of the showroom with the safety equipment added is matching the times of lot more modified and high performance vehicles, so it’s a great car.”

“I’ve completely enjoyed Targa Tasmania. I came down here with a completely open mind and didn’t know what to expect, but I’ve enjoyed every minute of it.”

Warren’s performance in the inaugural Showroom class impressed many observers and came as a shock to the Seven Mile Beach driver.

“I’m totally surprised by the margin, and didn’t expect it at all,” Warren said.

“I thought if we maintained yesterday’s lead we would have been fine, so our speed today has blown me away.

“The car has been excellent with no problems at all. We’ve had no hiccups at all and it’s been as near to perfect as we could wish for.”

Targa 2008 Modern Results (Provisional)
1. 975 Steve Glenney (SA) , Bernie Webb, (ACT) , 2003 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9, 7:35
2. 919 Jim Richards (VIC), Barry Oliver, (TAS), 2008 Porsche 911 GT2, 9:06 (+1:31)
3. 993 Dean Herridge (WA), Glenn Macneall (WA), 2007 Subaru Impreza WRX Sti, 9:53 (+2:18)
4. 972 Ray Vandersee (QLD), Jahmeil Taylor (SA), 2004 Skelta G-Force, 9:57 (+2:22)
5. 947 Jamie Vandenberg ( TAS), Simon Vandenberg (TAS), 2006 Mitsubishi Lancer EVO 9, 10:20 (+2:45)
6. 945 Greg Garwood (TAS), John Allen (QLD), 2004 Porsche 911 GT3 RS, 10:25 (+2:50)
7. 913 Matt Close (VIC), Casey Close (VIC), 2000 Porsche 911 Turbo, 11:31 (+3:56)
8. 992 Klark Quinn (QLD), Natasha Deniese (VIC), 2007 Subaru Impreza WRX Sti, 11:49 (+4.14)
9. 996 Tony Quinn (QLD), Keith Wenn (TAS), 2006 Porsche 911 Turbo, 11:53 (+4:18)
10. 922 Tony Longhurst (NSW), Jameil Taylor (SA), 2007 Subaru Impreza WRX Sti, 13:07 (+5:32)

Targa 2008 Classic Results (Provisional)
1. 577 Rex Broadbent (VIC), John Lillyman (VIC), 1974 Porsche 911 Carrera RS, 17:22
2. 736 Gavin James (VIC), Neil McLeod, (VIC), 1989 Porsche 944 S2 , 18:46 (+1:24)
3. 573 Peter Eames (VIC), Will Logan (TAS), 1974 Porsche Carrera RS, 18:51 (+1:29)
=4. 413 Steve Coad (VIC), Rachael Coad (VIC), 1971 Holden Monaro GTS, 21:24 (+3:02)
=4. 465 Jon Siddins (QLD), Darren Ferguson (QLD), 1970 Datsun 1600, 21:24 (+3:02)
6. 574 Gary Tierney (VIC), David Carra (VIC), 1974 Porsche 911 Carrera RS, 22:12 (+4:50)
7. 718 David Morton (NSW), Malcolm McDonald (NSW), 1988 Porsche 944 Turbo, 23:12 (+5:50)
8. 643 John Ireland (NSW), Michael Ribot (NSW), 1977 Porsche 911 Carrera, 23:42 (+6:20)
9. 686 Rob Sherrard (QLD), / Roberts (TAS), 1981 Porsche 930, 25:36 (+8:14)
10. 607 Barry Faux (ACT), Therezia Mihajlovic (ACT), 1979 Mazda RX7, 28:58 (+11:36)

Targa 2008 Showroom 2WD Results (Provisional)
1. 989 Alister McRae (SCO), Iain Stewart (QLD), 2007 Mazda3 MPS, 20:00
2. 986 Philip Buggee (VIC), Paul Freame (VIC), 2006 FIAT Punto Sport, 46:35 (+26:35)
3. 915 John Dunkl ey (NSW), Jon Parker (NSW), 2006 Peugeot 206 Gti 180, 1:03:00 (+43:00)

Targa 2008 Showroom 4WD Results (Provisional)
1. 961 Tony Warren (TAS), Rhonda Burrowes,(NSW), 2006 Mitsubishi Lancer EVO 9, 19:30
2. 904 Scott Millar (QLD), Christopher Dean (QLD), 2006 Mitsubishi Lancer EVO 9, 27:59 (+8:29)
3. 907 Malcolm Klopp (SA), Damien Pearce (SA), 2005 Mitsubishi Lancer EVO 9, 31:42 (+12:12)

Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts