One of Australia's leading international rally driver Dean Herridge, will compete in the 2010 Armor All Bathurst 12 Hour Race in February with Jim Hunter in the Johnson Window Films Subaru Impreza Sti and a soon to be announced third driver.

A Sydney racing and rally icon, Hunter has driven in each of the new era Bathurst 12 hour races at Mount Panorama, whilst the West Australian based Herridge finished second in the 2007 race in a factory STi with fellow rally stars Chris Atkinson and Cody Crocker.

Hunter is excited with the prospect of having the Subaru contracted driver in his Jim Hunter Motorsport team.

“I am really pleased to have Dean in our team for a couple of reasons. The first requisite for all our team members is that they are good people and Dean is one of the nicest guy’s in motor sport with no inflated ego.
“There are a lot of drivers that would love a drive but their attitude off the track is more important than how fast they are for us because we are very much a private team having fun and trying our best to win.  The big bonus is he is a great driver with excellent car control.
“Dean was second outright and first in class at Bathurst a couple of years ago when he drove with Chris Atkinson in a Spec C Sti. Only for a safety car near the end they would have won,” Hunter recalled.
The 32 year old Herridge has competed in more than 50 international events in Australia, New Zealand, Indonesia, United Kingdom, Japan, China and New Caledonia, and this year has been contesting the Chinese Rally Championship competing for the Subaru Rally Team where he has been securing podium finishes.

During the Australian season the four time Australian Privateer Rally Champion who also won the 2008 FIA Pacific Cup Championship has been driving for Maximum Motorsport in tarmac and gravel rally events including two rounds of the Australian Rally Championship which saw hin finish sixth on both occasions.

He has a particularly good record in tarmac events, having finished third in the 2008 Targa Tasmania, whilst in 2009 was  sixth in the premier Australian tarmac rally, 3rd Mt Buller Sprint (part of the 2010 Australian Tarmac Championship), second in Quit Targa West and fifth in the Targa Wrest Point.

Jim Hunter Motorsport has entered two cars for the 2010 race on February 12 – 14, the Impreza STi and an Impreza WRX for Sydney drivers Warren Bossie and Glen Featherstone, both of whom drive Holden XU-1 Torana's in Group N, whilst a third driver is yet to be announced.

Hunter is still speaking to several drivers to fill the two vacant seats, among them a champion female Malaysian driver.
Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts