Leg One of QUIT Targa West continued today with the crews heading to the stages around the Shire of Kalamunda.
Early morning Perth commuters were treated to a spectacular display of cars assembled in Forrest Place and Murray Street Mall from 7:30 this morning for the official ceremonial start.
The iconic Zig Zag stage attracted plenty of spectators with crowds also flocking to the Kalamunda Service Park and special stage held on Mundaring Weir Road.
At the end of SS7, and with three stages still to run today, the current results are:
Leading the Competition Modern class, and outright leader for the event, is two-time winner Steve Jones, joined by co-driver Ben Searcy (Car 73 – Nissan GTR 35).
Matthew Sims and Dennis Sims (Car 92 - Nissan GTR 35) sit in second with another former QUIT Targa West champion, Australian motorsport legend Jim Richards and co-driver Barry Oliver (Car 18 - Porsche GT2 RS), in third.
The top seven crews are separated by less than one minute with the crews of Peter Rullo, Troy Wilson, Ross Hamilton and Dean Evans all keeping up with the leaders.
The Competition Classic class is being led by defending champion Tolley Challis (Car 72 – Porsche 911 RS). Shane Attwell (Car 66 – Porsche 911 RS) is 35 seconds off the lead but is holding a comfortable advantage over the husband and wife team of David and Vicki Moir (Car 11 – Datsun 240Z).
Brett Morse and Rodney NG (Car 31c – BMW M3) lead the Challenge Modern Class ahead of Daryl Sosa (Car 26c – Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9) and Razvan Vlad/Daymon Nicoli (Car 20c – Hyundai i30) in third.
Bruce/Max Lake (Car 2c – Datsun 240Z) and Martin Eyer/Sharon Blackmore are tied at the top of the Challenge Classic leaderboard.

Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts