Exclusive access from $6.55/month
Kiwi driver, Mike Young, will drive a Maximum Motorsport Subaru when the West Australian Rally Championship continues. Young, who has vast experience on the Asia-Pacific Rally Championship, will drive the WRX STI alongside Scott Beckwith. He is seeded sixth for the popular Forest Rally, which will use old Rally Australia stages at the Wellington Dam and the likes of Harvey Weir, Brunswick and Wellington. Reigning champion, John O'Dowd, is seeded first in his Skoda, but may start lower. The five car ballot for road position, including other top driver Ben Searcy, Nic Box, Criag Rando and Kody Reynolds, could really mix up the road order for the rally.

John O'Dowd is the reigning West Australian Rally Champion. Photo: Kevin McIntyre

Eight special stages over 140 competitive kilometres will make this year's revamped Forest Rally hotly contested. “Arguably, the stages around Wellington Dam and the old Rally Australia stages of Harvey Weir, Brunswick and Wellington are some of the best rally stages in WA, if not Australia,” Clerk of Course, Ross Tapper said. “The famous ball-bearing gravel adds an extra level of complexity for drivers, it’s like trying to control a car driving at speed on thousands of marbles.” At least 46 crews will compete at the rally, with entries set to close imminently.  
Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts