Some of the world’s fastest and newest sports cars from makes including Porsche, Ferrari, Mercedes-Benz and Lamborghini are expected to contest the 13th annual Classic Adelaide tarmac rally next November following the inclusion of a Modern Competition section for the first time.

The Modern section will be for cars built from 1991 onwards, allowing owners of a wide variety of late-model high-performance cars to test themselves across some 250 kilometres of closed public roads in the Adelaide region of South Australia.

Likely to be challenging European exotics such as the Porsche GT2, Ferrari F430 and Lamborghini Gallardo will be the less-expensive but similarly quick Japanese all-wheel drive turbo cars, the Nissan GT-R, Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution and Subaru Impreza STi.

Addition of the Modern Competition section is one of several developments planned for the 2009 Classic Adelaide, scheduled for 18-22 November.

Among the most significant of these is that Classic Adelaide will be the final round of the inaugural Australian Classic Tarmac Rally Championship for pre-1982 cars.

With bonus points for all points-paying finishers, the rally is expected to attract the cream of Australia’s classic tarmac rally cars and drivers.

While retaining the successful format of a prologue followed by four daily loops out of Adelaide, plus a calendar of after-hours social events, some closed special stages will be revamped to provide more competition, new stages are being considered and service parks will be introduced in place of roadside servicing of competing vehicles.

Although the Modern field of up to 50 cars will add fresh excitement, the rally’s focus will remain on its classic roots.

Modern cars will be eligible for Category trophies and Class certificates, but Outright winners will still come from the Late Classic (1972-1990), Classic  (1947-1971) and Historic (1900-1946) sections of the Competition category. Non-competing cars will continue to participate in the Thoroughbred Touring, Classic Tour and invitational Category S categories and the Regularity competition will continue.

Entries for the 2009 Classic Adelaide are now open and are eligible for a $700 Early-bird discount until 1 February.

The 2008 event, which finished on 23 November, was won by the Porsche crew of Kevin Weeks and Bec Crunkhorn.

Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts