Following the successful running of the inaugural Australian Classic Tarmac Rally Championship in 2009, CAMS has established the Australian Modern Tarmac Rally Championship to cater for showroom and alternative energy vehicles.

With the increasing level of modern as well as classic cars participating at tarmac events, the next logical step was to introduce a modern championship.

Both championships will be conducted at the same events during 2010, commencing at Rally Tasmania on 27 – 28 February. The remaining rounds will be held at the Adelaide Hills Tarmac Rally in South Australia from 21 – 23 May, Targa West in Western Australia from 26 – 29 August and finally at Classic Adelaide in South Australia from 17 – 21 November.

Registration for vehicles fitting the specified criteria for the modern and classic championships will be automatic upon payment of the entry fee for each event. There will not be a separate championship registration fee.

Championship points will be awarded from first to twentieth outright towards the Australian Modern and Classic Tarmac Rally Champion Driver and Co-Driver.

In addition, each driver and co-driver will receive class points. For the modern championship this will include: Early Modern, Late Modern and Contemporary, Exotic Cars and Group M5. Class points will be awarded from first to tenth place. These class points will also be added to the outright position points to determine the Australian Modern Tarmac Rally Champions.

Sporting regulations for the modern and classic championships are close to being finalised and will soon be made available on the online CAMS Manual website.

Championship information can be found on the CAMS website or by emailing or calling (03) 9593 7777.

Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts