Peter Major is one step closer to taking his first QUIT Targa West Competition Modern title holding a comfortable advantage over the rest of the field at the completion of Leg 2.

Major, who is contesting the tarmac rally for the third time, upgraded from a Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 6 to a Nissan GTR 35 for this year’s rally and once again it has proven to be the vehicle to beat.

Jim Richards and Barry Oliver (Porsche GT2) are still sitting comfortable in second with Peter Rullo and Simon Iseppi (Nissan GTR 35) holding off a challenging Ross Hamilton and Tony Robson (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 8) for third outright.
With competitors forced to wait for an hour due to a road closure between Toodyay and Bullsbrook organisers were forced to abandon SS20 in full and send the majority of the Competition Modern and Competition Classic classes through SS22 Bullsbrook Long at transport speed due to poor light.

Tolley Challis and Greg Flood (Porsche 911 RS) continued their charge in the Competition Class field with Mark and Mitchell O’Kane (Holden Torana A9X) their closest rivals.  David and Vicki Moir (Datsun 240Z) jumped into third on SS13 but were unable to close the gap to second.
A timing rectification before the start of Leg 2 dropped Robert Darrington and David Abetz (Nissan GTR 35) to second in the Challenge Modern class promoting defending class Champions Mark and Andrew Conacher (Nissan GTR 35) to the top of the time sheets.
By the end of Leg 2 the Conacher brothers had extended the gap over Darrington/Abetz and their title defense is looking strong. Keith and Russell Hawley (Holden VU Ute) have jumped into third position but still sit several minutes off top spot. 

Robert Buys, who has returned to the rally after a one-year hiatus, and co-driver Sanja Aksamija (Porsche 911) continue to hold a commanding advantage over the Challenge Classic field. Paul and Mitchell Thompson (Porsche 911 RS) are in second with Martin and Sharon Eyer (Triumph TR8) in third.

QUIT Targa West is being held from the 26th - 29th August 2010 in the Shires of Kalamunda and Toodyay and the City of Swan and City of Perth.

Note: As the majority of the Competition Modern and Competition Classic fields were unable to complete the last stage (SS22) due to poor light the QUIT Targa West Results Team will be allocating derived times this evening and this may have an affect on current results. 
Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts