The Dunlop International Classic Rally of Otago is the most successful event of its type in Australasia and has established a strong following since the first event was run in 1997.

As the event enters its second decade and after a review of the vehicle eligibility criteria, the organisers have elected to extend the range of cars eligible to compete.

In 2007, 2WD cars constructed after 1 January 1982 and prior to 1 January 1987 will be accepted, provided that they fully comply with Motorsport NZ Schedule ‘OS’. Details can be found on the Motorsport NZ website -

Schedule ‘OS’ tightly restricts the modifications that can be made to cars that have previously held an FIA homologation. The organisers expect that this move will help recognise and protect these cars as emerging classics.

Cars constructed prior to 1982 will continue to enjoy the same freedoms that have been in place for the last 10 years and are expected to continue to dominate the top 10 placings in the rally.

As other events in New Zealand, notably the ‘Silver Fern’ marathon rally and the NZRC ‘Classic Class’ have also adopted Schedule ‘OS’, the organisers felt it made sense for the Dunlop Otago Classic to also use these regulations while still allowing the more radical hybrid older cars that have been a feature of the event for the last decade.

Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts