Peugeot’s Kris Meeke (30) took the win in a dramatic final day on the RACMSA Rally of Scotland with Skoda’s Guy Wilks finishing in second place.

The final test of the day, the dramatic 33km Loch Ard 2 special stage, saw drama as Scotland’s David Bogie rolled 11kms into the forest, effectively blocking the stage for the remaining crews.

Fortunately both Bogie and co-driver Kevin Rae were unharmed and as a result of the stage being stopped, the remaining crews were given a nominal time and drove the remainder of the stage as a road section to complete the rally and with it put Scottish rallying firmly back on the international map.

Meeke, the 2009 IRC Champion, was embraced by Guy Wilks who insisted he was driving for a finish and not a win, however it was clear the Skoda UK supported team had been trying all weekend to put the pressure on Meeke and perhaps force a mistake from the Ulsterman. “We were under strict instructions to get the car home,” Wilks revealed, “and I understood that and stood by it. We didn’t want to take any risks and we went for the finish. Next year is going to be great and I can’t wait for 2010 to begin.”

No mistakes were forthcoming from Meeke, who finished his superb season with an emotional tribute to his team - and to one special man in particular. “Brilliant! It’s a pity that last stage was cancelled but it’s been fantastic for Peugeot and Kronos and full marks to Guy for a superb drive himself. It’s a dream come true this year for me and I hope I have shown that I am one of the best out there – it has been the best experience of my life. That car never missed a beat all year and I thank the entire team for that. For me personally, though, this victory on the first Rally of Scotland is dedicated to the guy who helped me get started in my career: Colin McRae.”

In a very impressive third place was Lanark-born Alister McRae, who completed the weekend very happy with the potential of the Proton Satria. McRae had been lying in third place for the entire rally, and were it not for his road position on the first day he may well have sprung more of a surprise. However, father Jimmy (five times British Rally Champion) revealed that the Proton chassis was one of the best Alister had ever driven. “There is clearly great potential and we hope the Proton factory in Malaysia can see that it makes sense to go for a full IRC commitment next year.”

Fourth place and first independent entrant was Ulsterman Jonathan Greer (21) in his Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX while fifth was taken by a clearly delighted Jock Armstrong from Dumfries. “I can’t believe I’m fifth! Ya beauty! What an unbelievable rally. If you listen to your women, you go a long way!” Armstrong joked as he paid tribute to his co-driver Kirsty Riddick.
Winner of the production category was Estonia’s Kaspar Koitla in his two-wheel drive Honda Civic Type-R.

The Welsh pairing of Tom Cave (18) and Craig Parry from Aberdovey finished a impressive ninth overall and won Class 3 in their Ford Fiesta.

The Scottish pairing of Stuart McQueen and Nail Shanks won Class six in their Ford Puma Super 1600, finishing 17th place overall.

There was universal praise for the event’s magnificent stages, format and organisation from both drivers and event visitors. One leading Irish rally organiser said: “I have never seen so many Irish people spectating on a Scottish event.”
Of the original 32 starters, 18 were classed as finishers.

In addition to the National and International Rally of Scotland events, there was a third event, the Land Rover Challenge, exclusively for the Armed Forces with the teams competing in identical Land Rover Wolfs. The diesel powered cars - which weigh in at 1.5 tonnes each - were prepared by the drivers, co-drivers and their Regimental teams and competed over all 13 stages, running behind the international field.

Six crews started with Bedfordshire’s Duncan Lilwall and co-driver Craig Teasdale emerging as the eventual winners. There were only two retirements.

RACMSA Rally of Scotland – Results after 12 Stages
1 Kris Meeke (GB) Paul Nagle (IRL) –Peugeot 207 S2000 – 1hr 51m 34.1s

2 Guy Wilks (GB)Phil Pugh (GB) – Skoda Fabia S2000 – +20.7s

3 Alister McRae (GB) Bill Hayes (AUS) – Proton Satria Neo - +3m 8.0s

4 Jonathan Greer (GB) Dai Roberts (GB) – Ralliart Evo IX - +5m 42.5s

5 David Bogie (GB) Kevin Rae (GB) – Ralliart Evo IX - +6m 24.2s

6 Jock Armstrong (GB) Kirsty Riddick (GB) – Subaru Impreza - +8m 21.1s

7 Kaspar Koitla (EST) Andres Ots (EST) – Honda Civic Type R - +14m 17.5s

8 Eamonn Boland (IRL) Mick Morrissey (IRL) – Ralliart Evo IX - +15m 9.5s

IRC Drivers’ Points
1 Kris Meeke (GB) 66
2 Jan Kopecky (CZ) 49
3 Freddy Loix (B) 37
4 Nicolas Vouilloz (F) 31
5 Giandomenico Basso (I) 28
6 Juho Hanninen (FIN) 21
7 Guy Wilks (GB) 13

IRC Manufacturers’ Points
1 Peugeot 112
2 Skoda 80
3 Ralliart 50
4 Abarth 43
5 Proton 11
6 Honda 3

IRC 2WD Cup Drivers’ Points
1 Denis Millet (F) 49
2 Manuel Villa (I) 36
3 Kaspar Koitla (EST) 20
4 Laszlo Vizin (H) 17

IRC 2WD Cup Manufacturers’ Points
1 Peugeot 80
2 Honda 71
3 Abarth 55
4 Volkswagen 16

View our Rally of Scotland photos here

Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts