Glen Raymond and Kate Catford have driven their Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9 to a comprehensive 2m32s victory in the Mitta Mountain Rally. The event was the first round of both the NSW and Victorian Rally Championships, and held around Mitta Mitta in Victoria's high country. Raymond also won the NSW Rally Championship component, while second place and first registered Victorian Rally Championship competitors home were Tristan Kent and Robert Males in another Lancer Evo 9, Third outright went to Richard Shimmon and Jim Gleeson in a Lancer Evo 7, with Tony Sullens and Kaylie Newell the first two-wheel drive car to finish in their Citroen DS3. In a tough event in dry, hot and dusty conditions, there were plenty of high profile retirements, headed by Arron Windus who hit a bank and retired the Activ Rallysport Lancer Evo 10 on the second stage.

Arron Windus was favoured to win, but hit a bank and retired on stage two.

Reigning NSW champion, Glenn Brinkman, retired with a broken intercooler pipe, but not before co-driver Harvey Smith suffered motion sickness issues. Michael South (Subaru) blew a diff, Tom Clarke put his Lancer Evo 9 off the road, as did Tom Dermody in his Escort, and Marcus Walked (Peugeot AP4) and Warren Lee (Lancer) both retired, but later rejoined the rally. Full results from the Mitta Mountain Rally can be found HERE.

More rally news:
Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts