Exclusive access from $6.55/month
Hyundai driver Dani Sordo has taken back-to-back victories on Rally Italia Sardinia, winning this year’s event by 5.1 seconds, to repeat his victory on the same event last year. Sordo went in front on Friday and controlled his advantage all the way to the finish, winning five out of the 16 gravel stages in total. Although he had his lead reduced this morning, the Spaniard’s victory was assured after a nearly flawless run. Behind him, the runner-up spot was contested in an intense battle right down to the final six-kilometre Power Stage. Toyota’s Sébastien Ogier – the winner of six stages in Sardinia out of sixteen – regained strength from Saturday onwards, once he was running a bit lower down the order, hence being less affected by sweeping away loose gravel. The Frenchman fought a very close battle against Hyundai driver Thierry Neuville, with the duo separated by only a tenth of a second after the first of three stages today. In the end, Neuville sealed the runner-up spot on the final stage: by just one second.

Dani Sordo jumps his Hyunida i20 WRC over the final stretches of Rally Sardina.

  Championship leader Elfyn Evans was most affected by the soft and sandy gravel of Sardinia though, running first on the road throughout Friday with his Toyota. He too could improve his pace from Saturday onwards to seal fourth, although nearly a minute behind the battle for the podium. Nevertheless, this was enough for the Welshman to retain the top spot in the championship standings. M-Sport Ford driver Teemu Suninen finished fifth - a disappointing result for the Finn after hos strong performance on Friday as he set the first fastest stage time and run in a strong second place for a long time. Unfortunately, mechanical problems on Saturday meant that he dropped down the order, eventually finishing in fifth place. The Finn was still the top Fiesta driver, after his team mates Esapekka Lappi and Gus Greensmith encountered problems of their own. Lappi was out on the first day, while Greensmith’s car switched itself off on the Power Stage before re-starting.

Toyota's Sebastien Ogier lost second place to Thierry Neuville on the very last stage.

Reigning World Champion Ott Tänak was sixth, having fought back from suspension problems on the opening day to win the Power Stage. Another Hyundai i20 WRC, driven by French privateer Pierre-Yves Loubet, was seventh - his first finish in a World Rally Car. The FIA WRC2 category was won by Toksport WRT’s Pontus Tidemand, who made steady progresses with his Škoda Fabia Evo to win the class after moving into the category lead on Friday afternoon. Hyundai Motorsport N’s Ole Christian Veiby finished 28.8s behind him,while Tidemand’s team-mate Eywind Brynildsen completed the class podium for manufacturer-backed competitors. Finland’s Jari Huttunen claimed a second FIA WRC3 victory this year in the Rally2-specification i20, also finishing eighth overall. Kajetan Kajetanowicz is the class’ second and Marco Bulacia third. Tom Kristensson won the FIA Junior World Rally Championship classification in his Ford Fiesta R2T, by a considerable margin in front of Paraguay’s Fabrizio Zaldivar and Latvia’s Martin Sesks.

M-Sport driver, Teemu Suninen, led after the first stage, but eventually dropped back to finish in fifth place.

Final Overall Classification – Rally Italia Sardegna
1 D. Sordo C. del Barrio Hyundai i20 Coupe WRC 2:41:37.5
2 T. Neuville N. Gilsoul Hyundai i20 Coupe WRC +5.1
3 S. Ogier J. Ingrassia Toyota Yaris WRC +6.1
4 E. Evans S. Martin Toyota Yaris WRC +1:02.3
5 T. Suninen J. Lehtinen Ford Fiesta WRC +1:33.9
6 O. Tänak M. Järveoja Hyundai i20 Coupe WRC +2:27.5
7 P. L. Loubet V. Landais Hyundai i20 Coupe WRC +4:43.8
8 J. Huttunen M. Lukka Hyundai i20 R5 +8:41.7
9 K. Kajetanowicz M. Szczepaniak Škoda Fabia R5 +10:02.9
10 P. Tidemand P. Barth Škoda Fabia R5 +10:20.9
2020 FIA World Rally Championship for Manufacturers’ Standings After round 6
1 Hyundai Shell Mobis World Rally Team 208
2 Toyota Gazoo Racing World Rally Team 201
3 M-Sport Ford World Rally Team 117
4 Hyundai 2C Competition 8
2020 FIA World Rally Championship for Drivers’ Standings After round 6
1 E. Evans 111
2 S. Ogier 97
3 T. Neuville 87
4 O. Tänak 83
5 K. Rovanperä 70
6 T. Suninen 44
7 E. Lappi 38
8 D. Sordo 26
9 C. Breen 25
10 S.Loeb 24
All results remain subject to official FIA confirmation.
Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts