Jan Habig and Douglas Judd won the Total International Rally, round four of the Sasol South African Rally Championship last weekend, driving a Super 2000 Volkswagen Polo.

It was the 2005 national rally champions’ first success of the season and came after a thrilling and close-fought, three-day event, which saw seconds separating the first three finishers at the end of more than 240km of special stages.

Second overall was the S2000 Toyota RunX of 2006 champions Serge Damseaux and Robert Paisley, who finished just 12 seconds behind the winners. They, in turn, were only19 seconds ahead of third-placed Hergen Fekken and Pierre Arries (S2000 Volkswagen Polo), winners of last month’s Zulu Rally in KwaZulu-Natal.

The top five were separated by 1min 17sec, with reigning champions Enzo Kuun and Guy Hodgson (S2000 Volkswagen Polo) finishing fifth and 30 seconds behind the Toyota RunX of Etienne Lourens and Andre Vermeulen, who were a further 16 seconds behind the VW of Fekken and Arries.

Damseaux and Paisley’s second place gives them the overall lead of the South African Rally Championship at the halfway stage, four points ahead of Kuun/Hodgson and five points ahead of Fekken/Arries.

The fifth round of the championship is the Volkswagen Rally on July 20 and 21.

Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts