Exclusive access from $6.55/month
The opening round of the 2007 Sasol South African Rally Championship takes place this weekend and is shaping up to be a well-supported and close-fought affair.

More than 50 entries have been received and these include all the main players in the seven classes.

Heading the list are 2006 overall and S2000 champions Enzo Kuun and Guy Hodgson, who will be backed up by 2005 champions Jan Habig and Douglas Judd and Hergen Fekken/Pierre Arries, all in Super 2000 Volkswagen Polos.

There are no less than eight S2000 cars entered this weekend and the BP VW team can expect stiff competition from 2004 champions Serge Damseaux and Pierre Arries (Castrol Toyota RunX), Jean-Pierre Damseaux and Cobus Vrey (Team Total Toyota RunX), Johnny Gemmell and Peter Marsh (Castrol Toyota RunX), Etienne Lourens and Andre Vermeulen (Team Total Toyota RunX) and son/father combination Jon and Doug Williams in their VW Polo.

The Toyota Dealer Rally starts at 9.30am on Friday and takes in five special stages in the Caledon/Riviersonderend area before returning for the overnight stop.

The rally re-starts at 7.30am on Saturday and consists of a further four special stages in the Overberg area, with a final 2.2km tar stage. The total length of the stages is 204km.

Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts