While drivers in the Modern Competition of Targa Tasmania will push their cars to the limit in order to achieve outright victory, drivers in the less-modified Showroom Competition will be just as impressive to watch.

Both 2WD and 4WD are new outright titles on the line in 2008, and they have attracted an entry list bursting at the seams with legendary rallying names such as McRae, Bates and Evans.

You don’t get a bigger name in rallying that McRae. And while the 1995 World Rally Champion, Colin McRae, was tragically killed in a helicopter accident near his home in Scotland last September, his younger brother, Alister, will make his Targa debut in 2008.

McRae, who is now based in Perth with his Australian wife, is a former British Rally Champion, and has driven in the World Rally Championship for the factory Subaru, Hyundai and Mitsubishi teams.

The 37-year old will drive one of two factory-prepared Mazda3 MPS’ in Targa, and will be pushing the nimble, but deceptively quick, front-wheel drive machine to its limits.

His Mazda team-mate, Rick Bates, is a tarmac specialist and may well prove to be McRae’s biggest opposition for the category win. An experienced driver in many forms of motorsport, Bates is expected to set impressive times in his Mazda MPS.

The Mazda drivers’ biggest threat for victory will most likely come from multiple Australian Rally Champion, Simon Evans, in a Toyota TRD Aurion.

Evans has won the past two national rally crowns, but this will be their first attempt at Australia’s ultimate tarmac rally, so his speed is a little bit of an unknown heading into the event.

Evans is an exceptionally talented driver, however, and most are predicting that as long as it has four wheels and an engine, he’ll make it go fast!

In the Showroom 4WD category – for the turbocharged, Japanese rally specials, Angus Kennard will drive the only Subaru against a host of Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9’s. His 2007 Impreza WRX STI Spec C will fight a lone battle against the Mitsubishis in what promises to be an enthralling battle.

Scott Millar, Malcolm Klopp and Greg Burrowes are all expected to be vying for victory in what should be a closely fought battle.

Photos: Redline Photographics

Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts