Welsh driver Matt Edwards (pictured) won the Ulster Rally, third round in the Prestone MSA British Rally Championship, scoring maximum points on all three events. Changeable weather on this joint BRC and Irish Tarmac Championship event, including torrential rain, made this all-asphalt event tricky, leading to several accidents. Among those were top Irish R5 drivers Jonny Greer and Desi Henry, and the English driver Rhys Yates. Second overall was the top Irish driver Josh Moffett, despite a broken gear linkage. The top two entries, Keith Cronin and Sam Moffett, both withdrew their entries before the start. Norwegian Steve Rokland won the Junior category after being challenged by the Irish driver, Josh McErlean, before retiring after a puncture. Edwards leads the BRC with 75 points, followed by David Bogie on 36 and Alex Laffey on 34. Three events are to come, a double event in the Isle of Man and Wales Rally GB.
Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts