In the final round of the Argentine Rally Championship, Federico Villagra (Mitsubishi) beat down Gabriel Pozzo (Subaru) in the last match of a thrilling face to face, to seal his ninth title and fifth consecutive, proving once again he is a step forward of his opponents.

After an amazing comeback "Coyote" claimed the championship lead in the last round to face the final showdown with just one point over Pozzo. The expectations prior the weekend for watching a head to head fight for the title where really huge, however, the former FIA Production Cup winner wasn't lucky enough.

On SS3 Pozzo gave up to all his chances to clinch his first national championship after the gear stick of his Subaru broke down, and after being obliged to drive in such a condition for three stages, the Baratec's driver lost one and a half precious minutes to drop down to ninth position. Pozzo finally bounced back in an incredible way to finish the first day of action in third place, though the gap was difficult to shave.

On Sunday Pozzo tried for all means to get as closest as he could from Villagra who cleverly managed the difference with his main contender. Pozzo drove as a really champion to win four stages but he couldn't surpass "Coyote" who finally beat him by 14,6s. in the race and two points in the championship standings.

This final battle for the title between Mitsubishi and Subaru could have been one of the last, since most of the drivers will jump to the new Maxi Rally class. Villagra will be driving a Ford Fiesta, whereas Pozzo will do it at the wheel of a VW Gol Trend. Marcos Ligato will lead the Chevrolet Agile crew whilst Claudio Menzi will change to a Fiat Punto. Alejandro Cancio is up to now the unique representative for the Peugeot 207 and Nicolás Madero is close to seal a deal with Honda to compete with the City Model.

Rally de Unquillo
Final Classification
1°) Federico Villagra-Diego Curletto (Mitsubishi)     1h53m41,3s.
2°) Gabriel Pozzo-Daniel Stillo (Subaru)     + 14,6s.
3°) Da niel Oliveira-Carlos Magalhaes (Subaru)     + 2m57,5s.
4°) Ezequiel Campos-Matías Aranguren (Mitsubishi)    + 4m02,6s.
5°) Juan Gil De Marchi-Mauro Albornoz (Mitsubishi)    + 4m06,0s.
6°) Agustín Rossi-Matías Aranguren (Mitsubishi)    + 5m48,2s.
7°) Gonzalo Monarca-Laureano Grigera (Mitsubishi)    + 7m11,1s.
8°) Álvaro Marchetto-Marcos Bazan (Subaru)     + 11m13,9s.

Final Standings
1º) Federico Villagra (Champion) 168,5 pts,
2º) Gabriel Pozzo 166,5 pts,
3º) Marcos Ligato 77 pts,
4º) Diego Domínguez 64 pts
5°) Nicolás Madero 59 pts.
Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts