Tasmania’s Tony Warren is the clear favourite for victory in the TMR Performance 4WD Showroom category of Targa Wrest Point, to be held in Tasmania’s state capital from January 29 to 30.

Warren and co-driver Natasha Deniese won the class in this event in 2010, and also scored the ultimate prize in the six-day Targa Tasmania last May.

Their 2006 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution IX is far from being the newest car in the field, yet several years of refinement have made it a brilliant package that has set the standard for the opposition to chase.

In a class dominated by Mitsubishis, the newer Lancer Evolution X of Scott Millar and Christopher Dean will push Warren hard over the two days of competition, as will the husband and wife pairing of Queenslanders Greg and Rhonda Burrowes in a similar Evo X.

The only non-Mitsubishi in the TMR Performance 4WD Showroom category is the Volkswagen Golf R32 of Tasmanian Dave Watson and his co-driver, Victorian Stuart Lister.

The little Golf is deceptively fast, and in recent Targa events Watson and the VW have proven to be reliable and are certain to be snapping at the heels of others in the class.

Also Lancer Evo IX mounted are Michael Minshall and Paul van der Mey, along with Mark and Ann Connolly, who all have ample Targa experience which could be vital in the run to the finish.

The third running of Targa Wrest takes in 14 closed road special stages to the south west of Hobart, with a total competitive distance of 208 kilometres.

Organised by Octagon, Targa Wrest Point is round two of the three round Australian Targa Championship that also includes Targa Tasmania, and Targa High Country in Victoria.
Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts