Federico Villagra (pictured above) won the Argentine national championship Rally de Malargue at Mendoza in his Fiesta Maxi Rally Turbo, his first national title in five years. With one remaining event, second in the series is the Chevrolet Agile MR driver Alejandro Cancio. Citroen C3 R5 driver Stephane Levebre won the Belgian championship Rallye du Condroz-Huy, beating the Skoda Fabia R5s of Adrian Fernemont and Cedric Cherain. = = = = Calendar dates for 2019 are currently being widely released. Notable changes in the five-venue JWRC series next year: the series will go to Sardinia instead of Portugal, and to Rally GB instead of Turkey. Otherwise it is unchanged. The ERC calendar is again an eight round series, but returns to Hungary with a new event in the north east of the country at Nyiregyhaza, while the event in Greece has been dropped. Meanwhile, there are no signs of proposed date changes in the WRC yet, with Australia remaining the final round again in 2019. = = = = The last of the 34 rallies across seven European regional zones, the ADMV Lausitz Rallye in the Central Rally Trophy, has been run. The FIA has listed the top five drivers in each class from each of the seven regions eligible to travel to Portugal to take up their place on the Rallye Casinos do Algarve (16-17 November). These include the champions from each region – Jean-Pascal Besson (FRA) from the Alpine Rally Trophy, Dan Girtofan (ROU) - Balkan Rally Trophy, Nikolay Gryazin (LVA) - Baltic Rally Trophy, Hermen Kobus (NLD) – Benelux Rally Trophy, Josh Moffett (IRL) – Celtic Rally Trophy, Ondřej Bisaha (CZE) – Central Rally Trophy and Ivan Ares (ESP) – Iberian Rally Trophy. The ERT Junior class entry for drivers born after 1 January 1991 champions were Thomas Schmid (CHE) from the Alpine Rally Trophy, Grigor Grigorov (BGR) - Balkan Rally Trophy, Ken Torn (EST) - Baltic Rally Trophy, Gert Jan Kobus (NLD) – Benelux Rally Trophy, Steve Rokland (NOR) – Celtic Rally Trophy, Erik Cais (CZE) – Central Rally Trophy and Simon Wagner (AUT) – Iberian Rally Trophy. = = = = Two simultaneous rally successes for Toyota Etios cars came last weekend. Alejandro Galanti’s Etios R5 won the Paraguayan championship Rally de Carapegua, beating the strong national Skoda Fabia R5 team headed by Codasur champion, Gustavo Saba, who won the national title on the event. This was at the same time Osian Pryce made the world competitive debut of R4-Kit formula cars on the Spanish gravel championship Ciudad de Granada Rally. = = = = For the first time in two years, Gaurav Gill not did win a round he entered in the Indian national championship, because a driveshaft on his Mahindra XUV500 failed. His regular teammate, Amittrajit Ghosh, won instead at the Rally Arunachal. Meanwhile, the endeavour to elevate the Indian championship round at Chikmagalur into APRC status seems to have stalled. = = = = The teams and drivers for the 2019 World Rally Championship are to be publicly presented at the Autosport Show at the NEC, Birmingham on Saturday, January 11. = = = = Recent testing news: Takamoto Katsuta has been seen driving a Yaris WRC and Gus Greensmith in a Fiesta WRC …
Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts