Jason and John White have put on a dynamic display to increase their edge over the field after the second day of Targa Tasmania. Starting the day with a five second lead, the Whites guided their 2016 Dodge Viper to a 16 second advantage over his rivals. The pair are eyeing a seventh victory in the celebrated tarmac rally which would see them move to just one less than Targa Tasmania record-holders Jim Richards and Barry Oliver who have crossed the line first on eight occasions. After a challenging day encompassing six special stages, the Whites set TS8 Paloona, alight, pulling 10 seconds to build a buffer. Trading places was the order of the day for second and third placings, with Matt Close and Cameron Reeves eventually holding down second outright in their Porsche GT3 RS. The pair had an epic battle with Steve Glenney and Andy Sarandis who go into the third day just four seconds behind Close. They also lead the GT4 class. There were some strong performances from fourth-placed Angus Kennard and Ian Wheeler in the 2015 Nissan GT-R R35. White enjoyed attacking the stages, but knows he will have to change his style sooner or later. “We had an exciting stage at Paloona,” Jason White said. “I hit the brakes on the first corner and had a drink bottle submarine down in between the brake pedals. “It was a distraction for the first few kays. It made me crabby, but the crabbiness fed through the steering wheel and into the wheels and it ended up being a very good time. “We’ll have to start conserving tyres soon, the only trouble is that it’s too much fun.” Close was pleased with his day. “We came here to win and we’re competitive so far,” Close said. “We’ve got a great car and a great package, so we can tick that box off.” Glenney knows he lacks the top speed of his rivals. “We were going as fast as we could go, but they have a bit more grunt than us on the straight bits,” Glenney said. “We’re not too far away, but we’re hanging in there.” Joshua Sutcliffe and Jon Mitchell who were also big movers on the second day in their 2006 Subaru STI, are sitting in seventh overall and first in the Early Modern class. In other classes, the Shannons Classic GT has seen the 1975 Holden Torana of Michael Bray and Daniel Bray in an intense battle with the 1970 Datsun 240Z of Jon and Gina Siddons, with just six seconds separating the two cars. Graham Copeland and Josh Herbert have a clear two-minute buffer in the Classic handicap in their 1941 GMC Jimmy Special. In the Rookie GT, Jeff Morton and Steve Fisher hold the upper hand following the completion of Day 2. The pairing guided their 2017 Lotus Exige to a 27 second lead after nine stages over Anthony Moss and Julie Hunter in their 2009 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X. The Country Club GT Sports Trophy is led by Duursma and Richard Wodhams in a Lotus Exige SV6 at the end of Day 2 at Targa Tasmania. Duursma set the pace across the day and has opened up a handy 43 second lead over the Subaru Impreza WRX STI of Kristian Downing and Clayton Webber. The TSD Trophy is led by Brian and Justin Marshal in a VW Polo GTi. The third day sees the field head to St Helens on the east coast for six competitive stages ahead of returning to the Launceston base. End of Day 2 results (Provisional) OVERALL 1 Jason White/John White 2016 Dodge Viper ACR Extreme 2 Matt Close/Cameron Reeves 2017 Porsche GT3 RS +16s 3 Steve Glenney/ Andy Sarandis 2015 Subaru WRX STI +20s 4 Angus Kennard/Ian Wheeler 2015 Nissan GT-R R35 +1m:14s 5 Michael Pritchard/Gary Mourant Porsche 911 GT3 RS +1m:19s 6 Paul Stokell/Erin Kelly 2014 Lotus Exige S +1m:25s 7 Joshua Sutcliffe/Jon Mitchell 2006 Subaru S204 +1m:47s 8 Peter Nunn/Keith Johnstone 2016 Porsche GTS +2m:11s 9 John Ireland/Janet Binns 2017 Dodge Viper +2m:16s 10 Mark Balcombe/Brian Foster 2011 Nissan GTR R35 +2m:17s Wrest Point GT2 1 Jason White/John White 2016 Dodge Viper ACR Extreme 2 Matt Close/Cameron Reeves 2017 Porsche GT3 RS +16s 3 Michael Pritchard/Gary Mourant Porsche 911 GT3 RS +1m:19s   RDA Brakes GT4 1 Steve Glenney/Andy Sarandis 2015 Subaru WRX STI 2 Angus Kennard/Ian Wheeler 2015 Nissan GT-R R35 +54s 3 Mark Balcombe/Brian Foster 2011 Nissan GTR R35 +1m:57s   Shannons Classic GT 1 Michael Bray/Daniel Bray 1975 Holden Torana 2 Jon Siddins/Gina Siddins 1970 Datsun 240Z +6s 3 Mark Hammond/Dennis Neagle 1980 Jaguar XJS +2m:03s Shannons Classic 1 Graham Copeland/Josh Herbert 1941 GMC Jimmy Special 2 Steve McClintock/Jana Skinner 1971 BMW 2002 +2m:00s 3 Nik Prieston/Dylan Braithwaite 1975 Fiat 131 Abarth +2m.38s Duttons Garage Early Modern 1 Joshua Sutcliffe/Jon Mitchell 2006 Subaru S204 2 Liam Howarth/Larry Howarth 1995 Nissan Skyline R33 GTR V-Spec +46s 3 Adam Kaplan/Aleshia Penney, 2004 BMW M3 +1m:27s   Country Club GT Sports Trophy 1 Martin Duursma/Richard Wodhams 2013 Lotus Exige S V6 2 Kristian Downing/Clayton Webber 2011 Subaru WRX STI +43s 3 Jeff Beable/Nerida Beable, 2000 Nissan Skline GTR +54s Spirit of Tasmania Thoroughbred Trophy 1 Jim Kelly/Evan Kelly 1984 Audi Quattro Coupe 2 Jack Waldron/Vin Gregory 1981 Mitsubishi Sigma +39s 3 Geoff Storr/Steve Caplice 1978 Alfa Romeo Alfetta GTV 14m:06s TSD Trophy 1 Brian Marshall/Justin Marshall 2011 VW Polo GTi 22 points 2 Steve Brumby/Heather Brumby 1999 Alfa Romeo GTV 30 points 3 Darryl Marshall/Peter Marshall 2002 Ford Falcon Pursuit Ute 34 points Rookie Classic GT 1 Justin Gan/David Hart 1978 Porsche 911 Rookie Early Modern 1 John Swan/Barry Swan 1991 Porsche 944 S2 2 Adam Gosling/Ian Noble 2002 BMW E46 M3 +33s 3 Leigh Ford/Nicholas Browne 2003 Honda Integra Type R +48s Rookie GT 1 Jeff Morton/Steve Fisher 2017 Lotus Exige 2 Anthony Moss/Julie Hunter 2009 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X +27s 3 Jesse Medwin/Zak Brakey 2011 Subaru STI Spec C +1m:29s
Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts