Exclusive access from $6.55/month
Hyundai Motorsport have announced the eight young drivers to progress in their young driver development program overnight. The South Korean mark recently announced a shortlist of 17, however, this has been whittled down to eight. The eight drivers come from various backgrounds, and seven different nationalities. Young Finnish stars Jari Huttunen and Kalle Rovanpera arguably top the list. Huttunen recently won WRC2 in Finalnd, and Rovanpera is set to make his WRC debut in this October’s Wales Rally GB. Emil Bergvist, Karl Kruuda, Pepe Lopex, Pierre-Louis Loubet, Rene Mandel and British driver, Gus Greensmith, have also gained selection to the next stage. Hyundai Motorsport confirmed that driver selection has been based on not just in-car performance. “The selection is based on the driver’s performance on rallies, as well as interviews when they visited our headquarters earlier this month,” a Hyundai spokesman said. The eight drivers will test on gravel and asphalt using an i20 R5 next month, with the winner receiving a full WRC2 campaign with Hyundai in 2018. The Hyundai Development Program already includes South Korean driver, Chewon Lim, who competed in last weekend’s Rallye Deutchland.
Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts