Adrian Coppin in action in the National Capital Rally. Photo: Luke Whitten

The Australian Rally Championship has announced a six round calendar for the 2019 season, beginning in April. Events-wise, the calendar is identical to this year. The order, however, has changed. Victoria’s round of the championship, the Eureka Rally, will be moved from March to August in what will give competitors and organisers a new look at the Ballarat roads. In the previous two years, the roads have been dry and dusty, but an August event will ensure the dust is minimal and will throw up different conditions on the fast and flowing roads. The Forest Rally in Western Australia has taken over as the championship’s opener, from April 5 to 7. It is the first time that WA has hosted the first round of the championship since 2016. Canberra’s classically tough roads make up round two in the second weekend in May, with Tasmania keeping their winter slot, moving a month earlier to June 19-21. This year, Tasmania gave the ARC a great reception when thousands of people attended the Friday evening super special stage in central Launceston. It was the first time that the Apple Isle had hosted a round for almost 10 years. The Adelaide Hills Rally will be round five of the championship, followed by the regular season-ending trip to Coffs Harbour for Rally Australia. CAMS General Manager of Motor Sport Michael Smith said he was looking forward to another action packed season. “The depth of talent in the ARC is very promising and the fierce competition at the pointy end of the field has produced some amazing performances in 2018. We look forward to seeing more of that next year,” Smith said. “I’m also really excited to confirm we have some more changes planned for the Championship’s structure, which we look forward to announcing around Rally Australia later this year.” Eli Evans leads the 2018 ARC title race ahead of Rally Australia in two weeks, ahead of Harry Bates and Steve Glenney. 2019 CAMS Australian Rally Championship calendar: 1. Forest Rally, Busselton, WA – 5 to 7 April 2. National Capital Rally, Canberra, ACT – 10 to 11 May 3. Rally Tasmania, Launceston, TAS – 21 to 23 June 4. Eureka Rally, Ballarat, VIC – 24 to 25 August 5. Adelaide Hills Rally, Adelaide Hills, SA – 20 to 22 September 6. Rally Australia, Coffs Harbour, NSW – 15 to 17 November

Related news:
Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts