The upcoming Toyota Rally SA is to be promoted at the Adelaide Crows versus Geelong AFL match at AAMI Stadium on Sunday, 2 July 2006.

With Toyota's long standing association with the Adelaide Crows and its role as the naming rights sponsor of the Toyota Rally SA, football fans will be given the opportunity to see a Toyota Sportivo Corolla Rally car driven around the oval.  Toyota Racing Development co-driver Coral Taylor will also be speaking at the Chairman’s function prior to the start of the game.

Other activities for the Toyota Rally SA at AAMI stadium will include a pre-match promotion for footy fans at the main entry gates, rally ticket giveaways during the game, a post match rally ticket giveaway at the Crows Shed After Party and rally action on the stadium's superscreen.

The Toyota Rally SA (to be held from 18 – 20 August 2006) is Round 5 of the NEC Computers Australian Rally Championship and is to be held in the Barossa Valley and Mount Crawford Forest on stunning rally roads described as being among the best in the country.

"This year's event will build on what has been achieved in the past and I am confident it will be the best rally ever held in South Australia”, says Toyota Rally SA Chief Executive Andrew Daniels.

Regional Manager of Toyota, Central Region, Mr Michael Beros, says "Toyota is very excited to once again be sponsoring the 2006 Toyota Rally SA".

"Motorsport makes up a large component of Toyota's DNA. Our 'We race, we learn, you win' motto highlights the importance that Toyota places in ensuring key principles such as safety, performance and reliability are not only developed on the race track, but are also incorporated into the vehicles our customers enjoy driving every day".

Last year's Toyota Rally SA attracted a national record attendance of 30,500.

The 2006 Toyota Rally SA will feature a Promotional Start on Friday evening (18 August) in Tanunda where spectators can talk with the crews and view the cars close-up, with the main action on the Saturday and Sunday (19 & 20 August) at the Forties spectator area in Mount Crawford Forest.

Competing cars pass the Forties spectator area five times a day (unique in Australian rallying) while a giant Bytecraft Superscreen, foods, bars and merchandise outlets make the Toyota Rally SA the most spectator friendly in the country.

The event will be held over 19 special stages with 191.55 kilometres of competitive driving.



The Service Park will be located at the Mount Pleasant Showground and is open for rally fans to observe the service crews work on the sophisticated rally machines.

Last year's Toyota Rally SA was won by Scott Pedder/Glen Weston in their Mitsubishi Lancer EVO VIII, followed by Neal Bates/Coral Taylor in the Toyota Corolla Sportivo, with Cody Crocker/Dale Muscatt in the Subaru Impreza WRX Sti taking third.

Current positions in the 2006 NEC Computers Australian Rally Championship are:

1.   Simon Evans/Sue Evans (Toyota)
2.   Neal Bates/Coral Taylor (Toyota)
3.   Dean Herridge/Bill Hayes (Subaru)
4.   Scott Pedder/Glen Weston (Mitsubishi)    

Manufacturers Championship:

1.   Toyota
2.   Mitsubishi
3.   Ford
Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts