The draft entry list for the Make Smoking History Forest Rally has been announced, revealing a strong field of ARC round winners. Harry Bates and John McCarthy will lead the field in their Toyota Yaris AP4, fresh from their dominant performance in The Courier Eureka Rally. Bates won both heats in Ballarat in a faultless performance which sees him lead the Australian Rally Championship fight ahead of round two. Tasmanian resident, Steve Glenney is seeded second on the road, ahead of three time champion, Eli Evans. Glenney was initially unsure about the prospect of the big trip west, but he, alongside co-driver Andy Sarandis will be there aiming for the top spot.

Steve Glenney will start second on the road in WA. Photo: Luke Whitten

Subaru do Motorsport’s Molly Taylor will be hoping to continue her strong form in Western Australia after she won both heats there last season. Glen Raymond is another who was debating about the trip west, but will start fifth on the road in a Subaru. Announcing the news on Facebook, Raymond said he was excited for the event. “Shout out to the legend that is Peter Schey. He has kindly offered me his new purchase of an ex-Crocker APRC Subaru WRX STi,” he said.

Adrian Coppin will switch from a Peugeot 208 AP4 to a Skoda R5 car. Photo: Luke Whitten

Arguably the most exciting part of the entry list is the inclusion of an R5 car.
It will be the first time an R5 car has competed in the Australian Rally Championship, and driver, Adrian Coppin is more than raring to go.
Leading WA chargers, Dylan King and Brad Markovic will both be aiming for strong home events. Five-time Australian Rally Champion, Ross Dunkerton will also be competing, driving a Maximum Motorsport Subaru. The Make Smoking History Forest Rally will run from 27th to the 29th of April. Download the Forest Rally entry list HERE.
Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts