Seven Australians have already entered this year’s Otago Rally, with the prospect of at least another half dozen still expected to make the start line for this year’s event.

Heading the list of Aussies is former Australian Champion Geoff Portman, who will head a two-car Datsun Stanza team. Portman will be backed up by team owner Darryn Snooks in the second car.

New South Wales Champion, Michael Boaden, will drive his 2-litre Ford Escort, while father and son, John and David Hills, will also compete.

John Hills will drive his Ford Escort Mk1 BDA in the classic rally, while son David will drive his Lancer Evo 7 in the New Zealand Championship component of the rally.

Queenslander Philip Mason will drive a Toyota Starlet in the event, Melbourne’s Peter Riseborough will drive his Datsun Sunny, while Peter Whitten will drive a Ford Escort RS1800, a car owned by New Zealander Bryce Biggs.

Further Australian entries are expected, with former Australian Championship front-runner Jack Monkhouse rumoured to be heading across to the event with his Datsun 180B.

The Otago Rally will be held from April 13-15, and is based in Dunedin in New Zealand’s South Island.

Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts