Exclusive access from $6.55/month
Reigning Australian Rally Champion, Harry Bates, took home the prestigious Peter Brock Medal at the National Awards Gala Dinner in Melbourne last night. 23-year-old Bates, a deserving recipient, was crowned the award winner amongst strong competition across all forms of Australian motorsport. The Peter Brock Medal is awarded annually to Australian motorsport's best rising stars and boasts a winners list which includes Will Brown, Anton de Pasquale and Molly Taylor. Bates and co-driver John McCarthy were on hand to receive their Australian Rally Championship trophies after taking a clean sweep of wins in the 2019 championship.

Harry Bates and John McCarthy alongside Toyota's Wayne Gabriel.

The award comes several years after Harry's father, Neal won the award whilst adjudged to different criteria. It makes the Bates name the first family to win both accolades across two generations. "The list of Peter Brock Medal winners is quite incredible, and I now join Dad on that list, which is also a nice achievement," Harry Bates said on social media. "Thank you to many of my family and friends who were able to come along and share this moment with me. "I certainly look forward to carrying this award in to the future, and living up to the expectations that come with it," he added.
Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts