Daniel Callinan and Greg Fitzgerald drove their VB Holden Commodore to victory in last weekend’s Mt Stuart Sprint Tarmac rally in Queensland.

The event was run over eight stages of the 7.43 km. course, giving victory to the pair but not without strong competition from second place getters Stuart Titheradge and Kim Ackworth in their eye-catching Mitsubishi Evo 3.

They were in turn followed home by locals Lindsay Stone and Daniel Chambers in a Mazda RX7.

The competition was so fierce that on SS4 all three drivers posted identical times and on SS7 were only separated by two seconds.

Even though the competitor numbers were down this year, everyone counted themselves a winner as they got to drive on a section of road regarded as rally driver’s heaven, and the smiles on all the faces at the presentation dinner was a testament to that.
Overall Results:
Ist Outright - Daniel Callinan / Greg Fitzgerald,    Commodore
2nd Outright - Stuart Titheradge / Kim Ackworth, Lancer Evo3
3rd  Outright - Lindsay Stone / Daniel Chambers, Mazda RX7
Class Results:
P1 - Ian Ogilvie / Tony Best – Datsun 1200 coupe
P3 ¬- Gary Meehan / Greg Gifford – Datsun 180B SSS
P4 - Daniel Callinan / Greg Fitzgerald – Holden VB Commodore
P6 - Stuart Titheradge / Kim Ackworth – Mitsubishi Evo 3
The Twin Cities Autosports Club would like to thank all of the officials and helpers and acknowledge the support of the following sponsors for making this event possible.
Pickerings Auto Group, Lamont Constuctions, Key Motors, Thrifty, Brakemart, Fulcrum Suspension, Mr Rental, Performance Parts Plus, Drill torque Qld., Dynolink, Kennards Hire, Spectrum Fire, Mecure Inn, Hickey Cabinets, Applied Laser and Battery World.
Photos by Leif Hickey
Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts