With a strong field of 17 facing a the challenging sections of the Old Highway/Bridge Creek and the Old Highway/Barkshed the competition in the Sportsclassic Rallysprint was going to be tough and it would take to the last runs to determine the winner.

With the field split in two the crews were anxious to see each other’s times so they could determine the pace that was required to take victory.   

The Old Highway saw the crews taking it relatively easy over the first run with times around 4minutes 30. The times were reduced over the next two runs with Charlie Drake/Paul Drake setting the pace with a sub 4 minute 8sec run to claim the fastest time over the stage. The standout run was from Chris Jaques/Kate Thomas how recorded second fastest on stage with a 4 minute 16 sec run.

The second stage Bridge Creek was claimed by many to be the best of them all and was a real drivers stage for those that committed to their notes. Jon Waterhouse/Carolyn Wilson took the fight up to the Drake team with inspired driving only to see Charlie bounce back with sizzling time of 3 minutes 59 .7 sec.

The young team of Toby Goldburg/Craig Van Munster tried to narrow the gap but could only manage a time of 4 minute 10.9sec run to end the stage with the second fastest stage time in the Nissan Silvia.

The third and fourth stages, Basrkshed and Barkshed Reverse times were covered by the proverbial blanket with crews completing the stages in the 2 minute 20 sec bracket. Again it was Charlie Drake that demoralized the teams with two sub 2 minute 10sec runs. The competition saw the father son team of Paul and Shawn Newman try hard to chase both Jon Waterhouse/Carolyn Wilson and the Drakes and put down some impressive times over the two stages.

The team of Adam Casmiri/Matt James took out C1, Dean Lockeridge/Matt James C2, Gavin Lockeridge/Claude Murray C3, Toby Goldburg/Craig Van Munster C4 and Charlie Drake/Paul Drake C5.

Nissan Datsun Drivers’ Club Inc thanks our long-time supporter Carlos Casmiri from Sportsclassic Cars for his continued support, the crews for the great spectacle and officials for their continued support. The presentation of awards will be made on the 26 July at the Penrith Bowling Club. Results can be found at www.nddc.com.au

Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts