The final stage of the second round of the Dulux Trade MSA British Rally Championship, the Pirelli International Rally, has proved disastrous for the reigning champions Keith Cronin and Barry McNulty.

While leading, the Pirelli TEG Sport car stopped 200 yards from the end of the final stage as a result of damage to the wiring loom caused by a flailing puncture.

This sting in the tail has promoted Gwyndaf Evans and Chris Patterson to the top step of the podium in their JRM-run Mitsubishi Evo X, Evan’s first win on the event since 1998 when he was victorious in a two wheel drive Ibiza.

Craig Breen and Gareth Roberts also dropped time in the final stage, again reportedly with a puncture on their Fiesta S2000. The Irishman dropped over two and a half minutes, but maintained a podium place, albeit third behind the astonished Jonny Greer and Dai Roberts.

Greer’s event has been pretty uneventful, proving that a consistent and tidy approach pays dividends in the end. The young Northern Irish driver’s approach not only gives him his best ever BRC result, but also puts him at the top of the Dulux Trade MSA British Rally Championship and as an added bonus also heads the Mitsubishi Ralliart Evolution Challenge UK.
Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts