21-year old Russian driver, Nikolay Gryazin (pictured above), secured the FIA’s ERC Junior Under 28 title at the final European championship round, when he was overall winner of the Rally Liepaja in Latvia. Compatriot Alexey Luyanuk gained the overall ERC title at the previous round and did not start. Skoda cars took the top eight places, ninth being Tom Kristensson’s Opel Adam R2, the top two wheel drive finisher. Second place went to 24 year old British driver Chris Ingram, his best ERC result to date. Third place was won on the final stage by Fredrik Ahlin, beating Fabian Kreim. Retirements included Eyvind Brynildsen who went off the road, as did Brazilian Paulo Nobre and Niki Mayr-Meinhof. Spanish driver Emma Falcon won the ERC Ladies title. Martins Sesks won the ERC Junior Under 27 title. Gryazin’s title was rewarded by two all expenses paid entries in next year’s championship.

Emma Falcon won the ERC Ladies title.

Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts