Exclusive access from $6.55/month
Three other members of the Australian Rally Commission, Murray Coote, Jim Richards and Matt Lee, will join chairman Ed Ordynski by not be seeking reappointment to ARCom at the end of this year.  

The three members were seen as part of the new era of ARCom broadening its expertise and consultation to cover a wider perspective than just the Australian Rally Championship.  

Jim Richards and Matt Lee held two of the most significant ARCom positions as specialist, competitor advisors.  Richards brought a wealth of experience to the Commission and was competitor adviser for tarmac rallying; Matt Lee as current Victorian Champion Co-driver was competitor advisor in state and club issues - an area where ARCom made enormous steps forward in 2007.  

Murray Coote, a former Australian Rally Champion, held the technical portfolio, the first time ARCom had a Commissioner with the highest levels of technical expertise. Ordynski had specifically recruited Coote to assist in overhauling vehicle eligibility regulations to attract competitors back to the sport.  

RallySport Magazine contacted Ordynski to ask if he knew who would be filling the four (of nine) ARCom positions, but he commented that he was not involved in making any recommendations.  

"Matt, Murray and Jim were great contributors to ARCom and made the the 2007 team such a strong one - I am sure everyone in rallying appreciated the involvement of great champions with an incredible depth of competition experience, and who know how the sport works," Ordynski said.

The major changes mean that nearly half the members on ARCom in 2008 will be new to the commission, something that will hardly be ideal, given the big steps forward that Ordynski and his team have made this year.  

Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts