Exclusive access from $6.55/month
The Tasmanian Rally Championship is gearing up for its biggest season in years, with new cars, new competitors and up to five former champions on the start line. The four round championship doesn't get underway until Rally Tasmania in June, but already a long list of competitors have signalled their intentions to compete. Heading the list will be a two car team from the Maguire family, with Eddie driving his Lancer Evo 9, and brother, Steve, driving the ex-Glen Raymond machine that he has just purchased. Craig Brooks will be there in Molly Taylor's 2019 ARC Subaru WRX, while Jamie Vandenberg makes a welcome return to the gravel in a Lancer Evo 9. The success of Tasmania's Subaru Impreza RS series has also culminated in two fo the leading competitors switching to four-wheel drive cars.
RallySport Magazine | Australia's Best Rally Magazine

Eddie Maguire is one of the former champions back for 2020. Photo: Peter Whitten

Nic Grave has purchased the ex-Dean Herridge 2005 ARC Impreza WRX from Ross Dunkerton, while Ben Newman is building a new WRX hatch for this year. Tarmac speedster, Pete Nunn, is expected to be there in a Lancer Evo 5, while drivers such as Brodie Reading, Tim Auty, Keith Ablitt and Andrew Wylie will also be in the mix. The Subaru RS series will also return in 2020. For the first time, the Tasmanian Rally Championship will be a fully pacenoted series, with a two pass reconnaissance for all events. The dates for the 2020 Tasmanian Rally Championship are: 1. June 19-21 – Rally Tasmania 2. August 1 – 500CC, Southport 3. September 5 – NWCC, Rocky Cape 4. October 24 – MSCT, Mathinna
Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts