The Australian Rally Championship has unveiled the bulk of its 2020 event calendar, and also changed the name of the series for 2020 and beyond. With the Confederation of Australia Motor Sport being rebranded from January 1, the ARC will now be known as the Motorsport Australia Rally Championship. As previously announced, the Netier National Capital Rally will open the national rally season on March 21-22 in Canberra, before the Make Smoking History Forest Rally hosts round two on April 17-19 in Busselton and Nannup, WA. The further four rounds have now been locked in, with Subaru Rally Tasmania in Launceston, Eureka Rush in Ballarat and the Adelaide Hills Rally in Mount Barker to follow later in the year. The sixth round of the Championship is still yet to be confirmed, with discussions underway with a number of events to replace what has traditionally been the end of season Rally Australia slot. CAMS CEO Eugene Arocca said the Championship now had a solid mix of events that had cemented their place on the national calendar. “The 2019 Championship was certainly a captivating one on many fronts for both competitors and spectators alike,” Arocca said. “2020 is shaping up to be even better as we continue to work closely with the event organisers to further grow the Championship events that are held across Australia, as well as step up the coverage these events receive.

Simon Evans drove a Subaru at the mid-season Eureka Rally in Ballarat. Photo: Peter Whitten

"Our audience has grown year-on-year and we’re focused on further improvements to our digital offering next year to generate even more exposure for the Motorsport Australia Rally Championship. “While the final round is yet to be confirmed, we are committed to hosting a sixth event and will look to confirm details of this event as soon as we are able to.” The exciting, shortened one-day rally formats held for the first time in 2019 will continue in 2020, with Canberra’s Netier National Capital Rally and Victoria’s Eureka Rush Rally to showcase the shortened format once again. Motorsport Australia Rally Championship 2020 Round 1: Netier National Capital Rally, 21-22 March Round 2: Make Smoking History Forest Rally, 17-19 April Round 3: Subaru Rally Tasmania, 19-21 June Round 4: Eureka Rush, 22-23 August Round 5: Adelaide Hills Rally, 2-4 October Round 6: TBC

You may also like:
Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts